You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @just2random is Leaving Steemit and This is a Real Problem

in #steemit6 years ago

I have to agree with you - Steemit is getting harder. It is a product of growth, similar to (but not nearly as bad as) on Fiverrr. The more people there are who participate, the faster your messages scroll down on the list, making it harder for anyone to see your messages and, thus, harder to build an audience.

Buying SteemPower is an important method to positively affect your visibility, reputation and influence, as well as the other techniques you mentioned above (which I have yet to try). I'm curious as to which you think is the single most-effective method...?

I must agree with you that Steemit's devs need to continue to improve on it or it'll end up largely relevant only in a historical context, just like MySpace. I barely posted over the last year after my wife's death and, coming back, I see there's been a facelift, but I don't see any improvement to choosing topics, for example, and I can think of other improvements that could be made so that Steemit has greater value to its users. In the past, I wrote on a couple of issues that I noticed with Steemit, and I can only hope there's been improvements in those areas (although I doubt it).

Honestly, for a platform that still labels itself "beta" after this much time, they don't seem to do too much - or is that just because I've been gone? I guess I'll have to wait and see.

I feel kind of lucky because I started a while back and I got recognition on some good messages (and ignored on other ones), so I didn't have to invest anything other than my talent for writing, such as it is, in SP. I would've also posted a lot of photos except for the theft of my drive containing them.

I'm still trying to figure out where the comprehensive list of topic words is, because the list I found is tiny, without organization, and wholly inadequate.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Sort:  

Hi @reveurgam

Firstly, my condolences on your loss :(

I agree with just about everything you have said above. My understanding of the current focus of the Dev team is on horizontal diversification into other platforms all running off the one blockchain. I would imagine that services like dtube and dlive weren't around when you were here previously. Unfortunately for those of us focused on good old fashioned blogging it means we sit at the back of the queue in terms of improvements.

I think the most effective (if controversial) way to grow your account is through the use of vote bid bots. I get 15-30 views on a normal post, or 100+ is I pay to upvote it. A lot of people don't like this approach, but it is undoubtedly effective.

Thanks, AG. BTW, I think @minnowsupportproject doesn't exist...

I don't think dtube and dlive were "live" yet, but maybe I didn't notice. I was very busy from Aug. '14, when my wife was diagnosed with cancer, as I was the main caregiver and protector during her many hospital stays, until Mar '17 when she died, so a lot went over my head. I was also depressed and developed PTSD.

If you don't mind, I'd appreciate it if you can explain the use of the vote bid bots.

Thanks!

Will you be doing, or have you done a post about how you use these bots?

  • I would like to try that venture, but am a bit gun shy because wouldn't want to catch attention of grumpy cat and probably others I don't even know about.
    • I'm on day 37 and still learning...
      • What bots are safe to use?
      • What bots show the best ROI?

Thanks in advance if you take the time to answer...
BTW Nice post, I look forward to reading your entire series...