You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Managing Expectations when trading SBD for STEEM

in #steemit7 years ago

@alexpmorris - I have been trading for more than a decade and your charts even look busy to me lol ;-) Solid info though.

True statement though about long term investors. STEEM is basically like an option. Invest what you can afford to lose and let it work. No need to get up in the day to day.

The crossover with SBD of $1 as been a bit active of late. I have flipped back and forth on 100% and 50/50 the past week.

Sort:  

I've sort of ignored the slight SBD crosses lately and just started powering up again for now. Hard to say where it'll be in a week anyway. Regarding the "busy charts", I was packing in a lot of data there too, which accentuates it a bit more as well.

I often tend to focus in on price action, and if you notice, no oscillators, but everything does clue in on price action versus certain "busy" or extreme price levels. Not to mention I pretty much always have a level 2 up as well to watch how the underlying trading is going as well. Understand what's going on by watching how it's actually trading, and the charts themselves and the message they tell become just a bit clearer.

BTW, I'm sure you also noticed how volatility really started kicking back up again around the 1.05 level (STM/SBD) just before that big squeeze a few days back (crazy wide spreads all over the place).

It's all about time and sales, that was the box I always had above my quote boxes when I was trading full time. Order flow tells a tale and in the is what makes up the price action we see on the chart.

Now that you point it out I see the volatility, generally I don't watch the SBD price much just for when it slips under $1. I tend to focus on Steem/Btc more for trading.

Btw, I'm gonna be in NY on Saturday for a few weeks (I come up every summer to see friends and family). I know you and a few others are in Manhattan, maybe do an unofficial steemit meetup if anyone is free.

It's all about time and sales, that was the box I always had above my quote boxes when I was trading full time. Order flow tells a tale and in the is what makes up the price action we see on the chart.

very much agree! ... and sure, just msg me on discord, will definitely try to stop by if I can squeeze it in!

If you're still around late August, you may also be interested in checking out / meeting up at the next NYC EOS event also. I just put in a request for an invite myself!

https://steemit.com/eos/@eosio/eos-in-washington-d-c-silicon-valley-and-new-york-city-2017