Steem Witnesses - Who Do You Vote For? Do You Use A Proxy?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

the official channel.png


Hey everyone so having been on Steemit for about 3-4 months now I have started become a regular who is invested in the future of it. It is highly influenced and basically built entirely off the blockchain STEEM. Essentially we have vote for witnesses and they ideally represent us and help the community. I've been reading into it and doing some research. If you need to know more check my other post all about witnesses: https://steemit.com/steem/@scottcbusiness/steem-witnesses-the-political-system-of-the-steem-blockchain

Since this is decentralized and we are all here to make some money and do what we love without being blocked by oppressive restrictions voting does matter because otherwise people with money can with ease take advantage of teh system which may already be the case. The only thing we can do is use our collaborative power to make a difference. Keep in mind, even if you don't care, others do so at least consider proxying your vote to still make a difference.

templte banner.png

Who Do You Vote For?


I'd like to see the cases some people are making for who they vote for and why as I spend the next little bit looking into all of them and giving my recommendations. I don't have much inclination yet as I'm going to start reading each of the top 100 witness threads starting tomorrow, but I'd like to hear from users what they think. I will be going through any review I find and including them in my report this week that I do. This matters because we all have to have input on this or again consider proxying to people who are doing it.

The main issue is lack of communication between witnesses and Steemit for us to know who we should vote for. So this is why I'm starting to dive in and one person I'd like to highlight is @davemcroy

In his post 2 days ago here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@davemccoy/steemit-a-social-platform-or-a-bot-gaming-system which I resteemed he says "We at @newbieresteemday are happy to be presenting a series of witness interviews in the very near future. We have already lined up witnesses like @yabapmatt @steemcommunity @qurator and we have many more in the queue. We have a list of questions for each witness to answer, but the one I will want to ask most is this."

I am very interested to see this and will follow it in the future. This is the kind of thing we need for awareness and having a strong and open communication between the witnesses and the people they represent.

templte banner.png

Why Proxies Matter


The simple answer is some people don't care about the politics or voting of witnesses. That makes sense as some people are here just to browse, where as content creators and people more seriosuly invested in the future of the platform might have some more concern about who is calling the shots. So, it matters if you aren't voting because bots and people with a lot of money can take advantage of a lazy voting system quite easily and then ruin the platform worst case scenario. So proxying your vote to someone who is actively looking into witnesses and keeping up with it and posting about it makes a lot of sense. This way you could proxy me for example and then check in once every now and then and see the updates I share on the witnesses and if you disagree you can let me know and maybe we will come to the same conensus. I have somewhat of an influence on here now so I want to use it all to give back and contribute to the long term stability of STEEM and Steemit. So then consider myself or others who are involved in the politics to proxy your vote or to get updates on to stay informed and do your part!

templte banner.png

So yeah this was really short because it's not so much about the article as it is the question and the discussion I want to see in the comments to get a good feel for how people feel about the witnesses and why. Please share!

Every time I post I select 1 random winner from the upvotes, resteems, and comments totaling 3 winners and give them 0.01 SBD each and announce it on the next post! I also send out 0.001 weekly to followers! I use https://snackaholic.github.io/steemfortune/en/ by @snackaholic

The winners from the last post I made here: https://steemit.com/steem/@scottcbusiness/steem-witnesses-the-political-system-of-the-steem-blockchain

Were:
@machroezar
@razyy
@gktown

Note that once I’ve posted a new post the contest is over and this could be subject to any amount of time up to but not longer than 7 days

templte banner.png

http://steepshot.io/

Shoutout to the main @Steepshot team

@pmartynov, @vitality, and @korzunav
Their team has been steadily growing since the founders began, be sure to give them a follow!




Use #Steeply on Steepshot posts for a chance to be featured in my Steepshot digest called @Steeply

📷 Also join their awesome Facebook group where we are building a community around the platform! - https://www.facebook.com/groups/steepshot/
They also have a great Discord - https://discordapp.com/invite/9QsYr9f 📣

🌎 Social Media
Steepshot Twitter: https://twitter.com/steepshot
Steepshot Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/steepshot
Steepshot Minds: https://www.minds.com/groups/profile/827682669560881152

templte banner.png

@DTube is an amazing platform meant as a decentralized solution to YouTube's copyright, censorship and monetization issues. We are building a community around the platform!

Logo_Black.png
🌎 Social Media
DTube Twitter: https://twitter.com/dtube_official
DTube Instagram: https://www.instagram/dtube_official
Discord Group: https://discordapp.com/invite/9QsYr9f 📣
DTube Minds: https://www.minds.com/groups/profile/827680596576460800
Official Site: https://about.d.tube/
Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/dtube/

templte banner.png

@ScottCBusiness



💡 If you have heard about Minds and are thinking of joining up use my referral - https://www.minds.com/register?referrer=scottcbusiness
📊 Binance is my favorite place to trade, sign up with my referral - https://www.binance.com/?ref=15520033
💸 If you haven’t signed up, do so using my referral code 15520033

If you sign up on either and show me a screenshot, I’ll send you 0.1 SBD and give you a follow

✅ Join our @Steemersbot communities to network and grow together with our other Steemers - https://www.facebook.com/groups/Steemers/
Our pinned post has a bunch of resource for you to use and contribute to!
Also join our Discord channel - https://discord.gg/hNMjvBz 📣
We have lists of other servers, upvote bots, promo, discussion, contests, faucets, and everything you can think of!
W can also chat on Telegram - https://t.me/steemers 📩
We share our promotional posts here for now mostly

🙌 You can also follow me on:
Twitter - https://twitter.com/Scottcbusiness
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/ScottCBusiness
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/scottcbusiness
LinkedIn - https://ca.linkedin.com/in//scottcbusiness
Steemit - https://steemit.com/@scottcbusiness
Discord - ScottCBusiness#5242
Minds - https://www.minds.com/scottcbusiness

Proxy


Proxying your vote is pretty simple you just go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses navigate to the bottom and type in a username here:

I have started to take an active interest in Steem witnesses treating them as future global decentralized politics. If you don't want to learn or bother to stay up to date with it, but do not want your vote wasted then you can make me your proxy to vote on your behalf!

Delegation

📲 If you don’t always use your vote power or all your SP or just want to get upvoted regularly, you can delegate SP to me to receive upvotes on all your content
Use https://steembottracker.com/ to delegate any amount to me!

Sort:  

Since I am an independent journalist, I like to pick witnesses who are somewhat in line with my philosophy, or at the very least ones that are openly anti-censorship.

I also look for witnesses who are trying to help out newcomers and minnows. Also witnesses who have cool projects.

The ones I like most sofar are @ausbitbank, @aggored, @lukestokes, @jrswab, @krnel, @neoxian, @ura-soul, @teamsteem

I still got some research to do into other people though

Awesome glad to get some idea of where to start :) Thanks a bunch will check them out

Thank you for the shoutout!

thanks john, glad to have you here. :)

I just voted for a @krnel, he is a great guy writing on important topics, most witnesses do not. Not listed in top 50!
Curie always got a vote :)

Haven´t thought much about proxy but you make a valid point, and I have only thrown down 5 / 30 votes..

Peace

True! I'll check out krnel!

Great article, thanks for sharing @scottcbusiness and Steem On!

Thanks for checking! You rock :D

Nice topic

Cheers

Thank you somuch for your response on my coment.from today your every post will got an upvote from me.

Wow thank you so much! Every little bit counts to help spread it so more minnows can see and learn and grow together :) Plus it helps me earn more so I can focus more on Steemit and move away from my day job

I do my very best, I lack writing skills/talent, but I am determined to blog and share ideas, and learn eventually.
I believe in the potential of cryptos, and steem ofcourse.

For sure for sure! You can always check out my stuff tons of info on Steemit :)

Glad to see you taking this seriously (not that I didn't think you were.) But you know full well many do not. I myself have 23 votes left so i've voted for 7 witnesses. I do plan to use all my votes but need to be fully invested in my vote bc unlike the US presidential election, votes here matter.

I'm a little confused on your description of the proxy. Could you better explain that? I don't use that feature and the way you are describing it isn't the way i thought it worked.

So teach me. 🙏😊

I was more so explaining why you might use a proxy. It takes all your votes so you have to be somewhat trusting into letting them delegate everything. Votes here do matter, but technically someone could pay their way to be a witness.

Yeah no way I'd use a proxy! But good info none the less

Yeah I mean it's not for everyone, but for people who were only using it as social media and or don't care are giving one more vote over to like bots or purchased steem power by not voting at the same time. So proxies do make sense in that capacity

It seems at this point there is one common question to ask any potential witness. The question is if they support the removal of trapped votes from inactive witness accounts?

To get an idea of how much dead wood must be pushed through by any up and coming witness, have a look at all the red named witnesses on the following list of the top 400 voted witnesses...

https://steemian.info/witnesses

This situation works as an advantage to those already past the inactive dead zone.

Yes there are lot of issues that overly benefit the decision makers that aren't being changed that must be addressed

I've been here for 35 days and I haven't get a grasp the whole meaning of blockchain and what its has got to do with the crypto currencies. No one has ever explain it in a layman's term like making references to the actual day to day examples. They kept on referring to the same terms which is already jargon to most. Is it that everyone here have a background of a basic algorithm or computer programmer language?... I don't. It frustrates me every time and each time I tried to read or watch I don't understand. Perhaps I have a low IQ but is it only me feeling this way?
All I know from here is that there witnesses are like city council..they represent us (Steemit community) to communicate with the platform developers and that is important for us to choose our representative carefully for the future of this platform. To date I am still unclear of which witness is specialized in which contribution (charity drive, platform version updates, in heading specific community (Spanish, Korean Chinese) and so on. There is just no list to refer to and everything is hit and misses. Frankly speaking, most of the 17 votes are those witnesses who voted for my posts(not manual votes of course)... yup, that's the truth. For my case, I have 13 more votes left and it might be more if those witness that I vote not making any visible change in the community. Apologise to @scottcbusiness for venting here.

well steemit is a social media built off the steem blockchain they are steem blockchain witnesses actually. They don't talk to the devs, they more or less are the devs now I believe since it's open source and people can contribute ideas etc and they consider things for hardforks in the blockchain for the version of Steemit to be affected as well. This is my understanding not fact!

I guess its still a new thing that nobody can give the definite answer yet. What we can see here is very promising so long as we select the right people. Thank you so much for your views @scottcbusiness and I think I can see a glimmer of light now. Can't wait for your proposal to kick off... I will surely stay tune.

Awesome glad to have you!

thank you so much for the sbd !! it means alot and y do u keep doing it?xx

Was doing weeekly payouts, now monthly to all my followers :)

bloody hell thank u x wow u have heaps of followers it must take ages to go through them all lol

haha cheers, a script ;)

lol :)

I have no comment but I've resteem it. Thanks for your gift all again

Cheers thanks!

awareness is important ! if you know you are not using your funds try to find someone that will and delegate to, to keep the network alive

not necessarily that I meant more like you witness vote proxies not Steem power delegations

do you have recommedation for i vote?
i'm new at steemit and very confuse about it.
Actually I've read your post yesterday, but still confused.

sorry

not yet, I'm asking other people right now and looking through them myself carefully first

Thanks alot for special gift. I like your attention

follow and upvote me and i folback to.thank you

Hello! I followed you, let's increase the power of Steemit together! I hope you follow me. I'm always glad to have a new acquaintance with good people! ;)

I swear you must be my boys doppelganger. You look just like him. Maybe you know him. His name is @scottychams.😁 And no brother, you rock, or rap, however you want to look at it. But you kill it. In your business and your fun. Thanks again for being an inspiration. All of my love to you and all of yours brother.

hahaha eyy thanks for the love back brother I appreciate it

I haven't been on here long, so it's a bit difficult to decide to vote upon. The Top 20 seem to be performing well on the technology end.
But maybe i should start out by voting vor one or two who are convincing...

Yeah I'm going to dive into them each a little this week and give my thoughts biweekly or so

Very very good
Your post
Nice

Interesting article. Would really like to know more about Witnesses.

At first I just picked 30 Witnesses at random.

Then, as I moved around Steemit meeting people and joining discord channels, started changing my Witness votes to ones I met and services I use.

I've thought of using the proxy @kingscrown. Only want to make sure to keep the people I've met.

Would have been better to start with a proxy and then edit as time goes on.

Yeah unfortunately a proxy has to have full control over all 30 of your votes though

I didn't know that. Thanks.

For sure, always here to help :)

Hey @scottcbusiness! You are awesome, special, and unique! :)
You rock! I appreciate you :)

I appreciate you too! :D

Thank you so much for all sisters

Serious approach! The author does not skimp on words and terminology)) Super, there is someone to learn.

I always try to make it so that you can learn :)

Although my time in Steemit is very little, not more than 20 days... But I've met many witnesses and people who really deserve support and thanks.... I'll focus good on the witness I'm going to vote for... I would like to thank you very much also for your support to me. You're one of the best people I'm dealing with in Steemit

Wow thanks! I appreciate that! And can you share the witnesses you endorse?

Regardless of who we vote for, I think what is more important is that we always make sure to review these votes periodically. Just because we wanted one person to be our witness once, doesn't mean we'll always want them to. That's why posts like this and others who bring attention to the work witnesses do are important in helping users to really choose who they want to be their witness.

THANK YOU FOR THE SBD

Will be sending it out monthly!

Thank you so much for the SBD, buddy! 😀

Cheers my friend :)

Thank you for appreciating me by sending 0.001SBD @Scottcbusiness

I do it monthly :)

Ohhhh. Wow. That's very generous

Happy it made your day! I send them out occasionally to my followers

Awwww.... i wish to be like you too so I can be sending my followers too. Like 0.011SBD. #smiling

don't worry that's how I felt originally when I joined a faucet the first time. You will get there!

yes, that's a very good article ... gives an insight for beginners to choose the right witness.thank you, success always.@scottcbusiness

Hi Scott
Thank you for your transfered sdb to me, it's mean a lot for me, and thanks for your appreciating to me.

Cheers, thanks so much

Typically, I vote for witnesses that support manual curation of quality content and less favorable towards paid voting / delegation schemes. I also place a significant emphasis on abuse fighters and not voting for those who I have identified as having collusive voting patterns or supporting those that do and, yes, some of these are within the top 50.

Do your homework people!

Very true! Thing is like any political system MOST won't do their homework, and that's why I suggest people who don't care to use proxies

I like your post..
it is really good and awesome..
thanks for sharing me..

20180406_125002.jpg

Thanks for your informative article.I really want to talk about delegation.SP will be reduced if there is no delegation.

Well that's not how it works. If you use a proxy and or vote for a witness you don't lose anything. It's for the political system

Hello I am @chosk
In the 7th Day Black & White Photography Challenge event, I named @scottcbusiness as the next runner.
Seven black-and-white photos per day for 7 days.
If you do not mind, I would appreciate your participation.
https://steemit.com/kr/@chosk/sevenday-blackandwhite-challengeday-1

Ahh I would love to get all artsy, but I'm sooooo busy. I'm usually writing educational articles for my Steemers :)

Thank you for the reply^_^
Fighting!!

When I get more time I'd love to jump in :)

Wow!! Very Thank you very much for this information!!! i really like it!!

Just information for you,I had set you as my proxy in steemit witness

Thank you I will use your vote to better steemit!

Hi all, I have been here maybe one month and from the start, I took all voting serious I stopped voting up my own post I see no value in that. I have only voted on one witness @jerrybanfield for the reason I knew his channel on youtube and all the valuable info he shares the help he has given to so many over the years. I'm about to vote my second, @scottcbusiness I'm voting for witnesses on both sides of the scale what I mean by that is a witness that's already big and understandably might not be in direct contact with you but pumps out so much valuable material it shouldn't matter. On the other end of the scale, I look for someone smaller, that I can have direct contact with forming a relationship. In order to help me to refer my follower to someone I can trust.

Haha wow, I appreciate that! Maybe moving forward I may run to be witness, I think I could make a huge impact one day. I do vote up my content, but it's really just because I think it doesn't get enough awareness and then less minnows get to see it. I really appreciate the support though it means a lot to know that people recognize and find the work I'm doing useful :) It motivates me to know I'm empowering people on here!

Awareness of who should be calling the shots is very important. Funny, ive never considered listiening or knowing the witnesses until i read your post. Thanks for the wake up call.

With all my heart, i sincerely appreciate your kind gesture, for sending SBDs to my account everyweek. As a matter of fact, i had to trace who sends money without knowing me. Youre too kind sir @scottcbusiness. God bless you

haha well I send out payments to all my followers monthly now until I make enough to send it weekly and maybe eventually daily. I'm always trying to help :)

Monthly I meant. Thanks all the same, it means if you have more, you'll give more. Simple logic.

Yeah I mean I was doing weekly but now I can't afford it, like 5+ SBD so I'm doing monthly til I can

if you want,then follow and upvote me.i will back too.thank you

Вопрос конечно серьёзный, голосовать нужно с умом. Обдуманно подходить к этому вопросу. А вы, пожалуйста, пишите подробнее об этом и, если можно, кидайте ссылки, где есть подробная информация об этом вопросе.

Greetings @scottcbusiness! Your post was chosen at random and was resteemed as part of Shareables' campaign. Enjoy your free resteem!

If you wish to stop receiving this comment, please do unfollow us.

By upvoting this notification, you're supporting shareables' campaign here in Steemit. For more information about our campaign, click here!

@Shareables, we resteem anything we find shareable. Always strive for quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Your writing is very beautiful to me.
I hope a better write in the future will give us gifts.
Thank you for sharing your beautiful writing.

monthly payouts yes

Gracias por tu obsequio y aprecio, la verdad soy nueva en la comunidad y me gusta leer mucho las buenas publicaciones y así poder aprender lo que significa y como se trabaja e invierte en esta gran comunidad como los es Steemit, la verdad siento que aun estoy en pañales pero tengo buenos proyectos y se con la ayuda de personas como usted podre crecer en la misma.

Que bueno , muchas gracias po0r esa iniciativa.

Witness voting is vitally important to the community. Thanks for highlighting this issue, @scottcbisiness.

My voting can change from time to time. Getting ready for a team witnesses cull in the near future as well as witnesses running bots or selling votes. That should free up a half dozen votes or more.

My present choices are listed at this link:

https://steemd.com/@novacadian

Nice I'll check out who you are voting for! I've answered the call from the community to undertake running for a witness myself and am playing with the idea right now

Cool. Will follow with interest and a spare vote. 😎

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!