You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Steemit Is A Giant Circle-Jerk And How To Make It Work In Your Favor

in #steemit6 years ago

Just for the lack of advertisers Steem is worth it to me. Personally I hate the way content is currently monetised on the Internet and because I'm a firm believer in "be the change you want to see in the world" I've embraced Steem to support reducing the power of advertisers. It's still early days and there is clearly a bit of a gold rush going on right now but if I look at the long term trajectory I much prefer where Steem is heading than the direction we're heading with advertisers in charge.

Steem is having growing pains (understandably) but it's not alone, just look at all the Youtube demonetisation drama on a platform which still to this day isn't profitable. And then there's the insane amount of advertising in Instagram for which there is no content creator cut at all—you need to build an audience and then monetise them yourself. I much prefer Steem's approach and so that's why I support it.


self vote for visibility
Sort:  

you need to build an audience and then monetise them yourself.

EXACTLY!!!!! This is what the SMT is going to create. It will prevent censorship being the reason people lose millions of views, and being demonetized.

That's what I project will send the STEEM to the moon. People don't say that much anymore; but, if the SMT is a success, it's going to build entrepreneurs in ways other platforms have not...decentralization, with the NSFW label protecting the community from posts for adult-audiences only.

I'm with you on the advertising. It's not effective when forced on viewers. But, I do think there's a way that members of the community will be able to buy/sell advertising between 'channels' for lack of a better word.

Peace.

I agree with that. Thanks for your perspective.

I didn't like it at first either, but then I realized paying bots for votes is like real life where you pay someone to advertise your product. Even if it doesn't sell, it increases your reputation and voting power for future endeavors, so nothing is really lost.

I guess it doesn't feel like advertising to me because they don't have a good or service they're selling, they just want to build an engaged audience. I see it more akin to investing. If people are willing to invest to get more people to read their content and find their audience that seems like a fair exchange.

paid botting services aren't advertising? If trending is only possible by using those paid botting services, doesn't that make trending just an advertised page?

transitive properties! woot woot! A = B, and you know B = C. That's just basic. But now you can't deny A = C. Science.

How can you say it lacks advertisers? Everyone is advertising something. Everyone is pushing their own brand. There are hardly any public good posts. None of them ever reach the trending page.

quality =/= advertising

there is no filter for quality posts, just number of votes and rewards

I can only speak for myself, but the content I post I do because I think it's useful or interesting for others. I'm not advertising or trying to become a brand... that just seems weird and I've not yet felt like posts I'm reading are advertising to me. Generally I rarely go to trending, I've found content creators I like and want to support and so I rarely venture far from my own feed and mostly rely on resteems of the people I already follow for finding new people (also I check the feed of people I follow to help find more people to follow).

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

It seems to mostly be regular people advertising their own works and that is WAY better than constant big corporate garbage being shoved down your throat, even mid song/mid sentence, popping overtop of imagery that is part of what you are actuallly trying to look at.


I have not been here for long and it didn't take me long to see that it's way to early to put a ton of effort into really involved posts. I'm a busy person with a lot going on, and my time is valuable.


So I do everything I can to make quality posts that are hepful and enjoyable for others because I want to see the world change for the better... And I have also begun adding some of my other ventures and products at the end of most of my posts, because I can. I have absolutely no problem with it if people are not interested in them, but they can't know if they are if they can't see them. I feel they are worthy of views, so I multi-task.

Everything I do is from a desire to see the world be a nicer place, rather than continuing to watch it going in the direction it has appeared to be going in for such a long time. Therefore I have absolutely NO issues with offering things I have created, making them available to people. If someone can't afford it or it isn't their 'thing', and just want to read a post, I am more than happy to have them read my posts! That is why I write them, for people to read, (or imagery for them to look at). I'll work on the more deep topics with details when I have people actually looking at them.

I don't even mind if someone has a vote worth $0.00 because really for me, it's the thought and the energy of appreciation that matters. But I also have a family to take care of, so of course I will advertize my own things in any way I see fit. I also like seeing what others are doing that I can't find in stores.

We need to be doing things for ourselves to change trajectory. I want a big audience, of course. But I also want the right audience... people who actually care about thinking, and care about the world around them. And hey, if I get a lot or a little, great either way I'll add it to my resources for acheiving my goals. Our only worth is not dollars. Money is a tool. That's it. Our veiw of it has been programmed and skewed from day one for the benefit of those who have conquered the world by force. Time to wakey wakey! Being authentic is the only way to change the paradigm and if we don't change it the children will be fucked. It's that simple. People who do 'public good' also need to eat.

I also get a lot of the points made by the OP (some very good humor in there), I see it too. Ya work with what you've got. That's all anyone can do. There are many paths. I have no issue with paying for advertizing... manipulation by YT , Google, and FB to make it hard to see what was once easy to find, so people are forced to buy ads, that is BS. I'm older than the OP so I remeber what the internet was like before all of this greedy shit took over. Before agenda 21 became so obvious.

zen_healing_mandala_rs.gif


applesnitch_logo_s_banner_1.jpg


1 unfucker badge.png

I'll be honest here, when I read the unfuckers announcement from aggroed I was a bit in an eye-rolly mood because it sounded like some people were a bit into some magical healing crystals or something, but you seem alright. I shouldn't be so quick to judge. Permaculturing is dope too. I hope you make waves here and elsewhere.

I'm sure there's plenty of healing crystals and magical thought around the Unfuckers Unite group (guilty, heehee), Someone in silicone valley knows that crystals hold information.. however it's mostly just a group of people who all have different approaches to finding practical solutions to some pretty crazy things going on in the world!

The name Unfuckers stuck because of a comedy show with a woman who sang about the world being fucked up and full of a lot of "fuckers" --and that what we need in the world was "Unfuckers" which was discussed in one of @daniarnold's shows a couple of years back. @daniarnold is a very scientific minded person who looks into a lot of real subjects and find a lot of "woo" taking place! She's one of the most real people I've seen doing alternative type investigating and discussion in a long time on the internet. Without looking into the topics we were not taught about in school, we are unlikely to find solutions to the same problems that have been plaguing humanity for ages, while we've been trained by the slave owners about how and what to think. Gotta think outside the box, AND work on the everyday normal things at the same time.

We all roll eyes at something, it happens! Lol. Like many others, I am just doing what I can do rather than focusing on what I can't do in a world run by mad people. Permaculture allows US to turn food into a weapon instead of allowing it to continue to be used against humanity. Thank you @charitybot for sharing your thoughts with me, and for the well wishes! :)