Journal Entry #3: What I Love about Steemit -- so far!

in #steemit7 years ago

Greetings to my new Steemit Community;

Steemit is relatively new to me, although I have been aware of it for about six months or so. A good friend @gamgam recommended it to me a while back and I just recently had time to explore it and try some things out here. As background, I am a long time social networker primarily in the area off blogging, facebook, and twitter. So here are a few observations I have made in my short tenure here. AND I would love feedback and suggestions for ways to improve my footprint here!

I really like the emphasis on original content. It has encouraged me in a unique way to start journaling here. It is done in a nice way with the cheetah bot who upvotes you at the same time telling you he found your content elsewhere. This appened to me on one of my first posts - which was in fact my own content on my blog. I explained this to the bot in the comments. I am sure he didn't care, but any readers of my post will at least know the explanation -- lol!

I also like the ability to categorize and the limit to 5 - seems totally reasonable and plenty of options out there. It was not intuitive to me that the first one was the most important, so I messed up on my first post. I wish I could edit that but if there is a way to do that, I have not yet discovered how to do that. I would love to be able to see the categories available as I am typing them in to be able to pick something that is most appropriate.

I am a great fan of the free-market and love that this network actually rewards users for content and allows the community to govern the community for the most part. I am still learning about how all that works, but it is a wonderful concept to explore and be a part of also.

And finally, I really like the ability to better connect with other users in a topical way. The world keeps getting smaller and smaller and I am finding myself connecting with people from other countries in a way that I would not have done on any of the other social platforms. I love the fact that some of the posts are even bi-lingual -- in a non intrusive sort of way.

Keep calm and STEEM on.jpeg Graphic credit: original source unknown but much appreciated!

I am sure I will discover more things in the days to come, but thanks to all for making this an interesting learning experience and a very user friendly venue!

Journal Entry #3: What I Love about Steemit -- so far!
June 5, 2017 by @scrosnoe

Finding Gems & Sharing Them
http://scrosnoe.wordpress.com/about
(for more about me and some of my other work)