You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What it's like to be a Girl on Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I enjoyed reading your post. Not sure if you've been following it, but @veralyann and I have been having a friendly debate on the extent to which women can/should use their beauty and sex appeal to their advantage here on Steemit, and in life in general.

Unfortunately (IMHO) women are often conned into choosing between exploiting sex appeal and exploiting their other assets (brains, brawn, social graces, kindness, etc.), as if there's some inherent contradiction between the one and all the others. But I find that some of the most truly effective and influential women exploit every advantage (sex appeal, brains, kindness, etc.), and often at the same time, to have maximum impact on the world.

I think Taylor Swift is an example of this. She's off-the-charts brilliant. She's obviously off-the-charts talented (as a writer, singer and musician). She's incredibly kind and pretty humble (seemingly). And yet she doesn't hesitate to also exploit her physical loveliness and even her innate sex appeal. Consequently, she is far, far more influential than she would be if she simply chose to exploit some of these advantages while neglecting or abandoning others.

In any event, I really enjoyed your post. Very thoughtful.

Sort:  

I actually have come to that same conclusion in my head. I haven't seen the debate but I would love to read it...I do think that my looks are a part of who I am and I think that showing all sides of myself will allow me and my followers to connect deeper. I really enjoyed your response, I look forward to seeing more of your posts. I'm now following you. :)

Speaking of Tswift! How do you feel about nose jobs?

@veralynn as well.

I think she was talented with choosing a new nose. Where will her boundless talent end?

I have no issue with cosmetic procedures. To me, there's no principled difference between strategically picking your close or jewelry or makeup to emphasize or minimize certain features or using cosmetic surgery to do so.