Sort:  

I agree bots are a huge issue, but that bot isn't making any $$$, which is what people are upset about.

True. People certainly like to get mad over someone else making money instead of them more than over actually making sure the platform isn't just a shitshow of spam trash no one wants to use.

You don't have any money at stake. @haejin, if he's taking 5% of the rewards, isn't changing your rewards at all. Nada. Zip.

You and the 50k other minnows, like me, share 1% of the rewards.

Which whales get the 99% doesn't matter to us at all.

I love Steemit but the facts you point out are depressing to me. Steemit is just a reflection of what is happening in the real world (ie. most of the money and resources going to the top 1%).
There are some high stakeholders who want things to be different with @berniesanders being one in my opinion but until more of the 1% richest Steemians stop enjoying earning more rewards in a day than me or you earn in a month or more, nothing much will change. The price of Steem rising the way it is will only make things worse. Sure, we'll see more users joining Steemit in the short term but how long will they still around when they are earning $0.01 average post? Ok, so people might say, "Well $0.01 is better than nothing on Wordpress" but to me that isn't the point.

You are exactly correct. No one should be pleased about the status quo on Steemit. Neither whales, who must be giddy regarding the current price of Steem, nor minnows facing dismal rewards.

I but hope that the present price of Steem encourage whales to see the reality that capital gains are their best means of attaining profit from their investments, because that will convince them to join me in calling for dispersing at least 30% of the rewards pool to minnows, as the white paper intended.

Even a tenfold improvement in median rewards is likely to be insufficient.

Thanks!

I love the point. I'm like 6 days old at Steemit and I'm still observing. I mean, yes, no one owes an upvote to anybody. But who are we kidding when we say we are on steemit just to blog and talk about random stuff? C'mon, weren't we all interested at first because we know we could earn? And if we aren't earning a penny, why should we stay? (That kind of concept.)

Berniesanders is only concerned with maintaining his power on the site by limiting content creators from becoming whales. He would rather have control of a small pie than have a nice size piece of a huge pie.