My Vision for Steem

in #steemit5 years ago

Yes, I'm still here & of course I wasn't going to miss an opportunity to discuss the direction of Steemit.

I've quietly pottered around on this site over the past year without posting. There's so much junk on the site I figured that adding my own would only serve to be counter-productive.

Instead of posting I've been waiting, watching...


Bid Bot Supreme Leader
  • Watching you all use Bidbots & argue like there isn't a problem.

I have tried this myself on a few of my last posts, & I'll probably do it again for this post. It's silly not to because it's the only way to ensure rewards for yourself on the platform.

The problem is that any post can garner huge rewards, as long as that author can afford to out-bid his competition. To me that's dumb, & even dumber that Steemit Inc. idly let it happen. With Bidbots, organic curation becomes null & void.

  • Watching Authors continually struggle with rewards.

After HF 20 more posts have been getting attention, & small communities have been able to support each other, yet my problem this time is with the Authors.

Years have passed since this platform was conceived, & since then some of the Authors who began posting here when I did, are still posting the exact same repetitive content they started with... Their posts still suck after 3 years, their images are crappy, & they've basically done nothing to improve themselves, other than keep a line out for rewards.

  • Watching Steemit, Inc. continue to blow smoke up our asses.

I'm not going to touch on this subject here. It's a touchy subject for those of us who've waited 3 years to come out of Beta... among other things we've been promised by our awesome development teams...

I've watched these travesties unfold over the past 3 years & it gives me little confidence in Steemit's progress.

I should take a second to congratulate the work that has been done in that time, though I won't because I'm as unhappy writing this post as I was the last time I wrote a Steemit related post. The reason is because I know for a fact I'm not the only person carrying this sentiment. I know this because a vast majority of the users I knew when I started here are gone.


  • How long before Steemit becomes an internet meme?

My vision for the future of Steemit is simple & always has been; seeing users post quality content. Shit that's relevant & entertaining, not filler posts written for bidbots.

I want to see a community here that is acknowledged, such as the community of Reddit or Instagram. The only way to do this is by posting the good stuff, not junk. If we don't increase the quality of content on this platform, audiences will not engage, & we'll be an internet meme before you know it.

There are only two choices for the future of Steemit...

We improve as a place to engageOr Steemit dies.

You decide.

Sort:  

Hi @senseiteekay!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.536 which ranks you at #604 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 42 places in the last three days (old rank 646).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 205 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I don't mind if steemit dies, the other front ends are a lot better anyway (my favourite on desktop is SteemPeak which I'm using right now and Partiko which I'm using on mobile).

Unless you meant if Steemit Inc decided to run off with their (sizable) share of things, then maybe we might be in trouble? I should probably have some idea but I'm a bit clueless, I've just been hanging with my friends here and posting the same repetitive content XP I'm pretty sure at this stage steem can float away on its own if it needs to.

I disagree. I would mind tremendously if Steemit.com died, as it's the only product developed by those who introduced this blockchain. If they can't see their product all the way to fruition then what stability do investors have to hope for when using this platform.

This platform may survive as it is, but still isn't doing anything for content creators actually wanting to make something of their digital work. Platform developers need to left their finger out & grab people's attention if we want to see this blockchain, & the businesses being built on it, survive.

I have always had high hopes for this place...

I’m under a vague impression they want to work on the actual blockchain not on the front end in which case everything makes sense. The work they’re doing on their own front end seems half arse at best. And seeing as there’s so much better front ends around I’d be happy if they did concentrate on the actual blockchain over spreading too thin over something others have covered.

But you don’t have to agree with me, I don’t mind 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

I still refuse to buy votes or self vote. How much I make is not that important and I want my posts to stand by what others think of them. I want engagement in comments. That's what makes social media fun. I may never make enough to justify the time I spend here, so it has to be enjoyable.

Steemit have to decide if they actually want this thing to succeed. They would need to invest some of their millions on promoting it as community efforts can only go so far.

I had hoped for a much bigger community by now, but I'm sticking with it as I have made so many friends. I've seen other social sites die and I would hate to see Steem go the same way.

That's fine, though it's a common place to buy votes now days & it gives returns. A part of Steem is having resources to vote, & gain rewards, so not doing either is pride or stupidity. You can still make your posts stand out whilst earning rewards, & feel good knowing you deserved those rewards. You can also use those rewards to give back. It's really free choice, so I totally understand & respect your wishes.

Yeah, promoting Steemit is good & all, but without having a real community that thrives for this place(not just for the rewards I just mentioned), whom are truly addicted to Steemit, & love posting good shit, Steemit will remain what it is; A wasteland of good, bad, & ugly blog posts with very minimal user organic user engagement. I've already said all this years ago, & hiring marketing teams hasn't helped.

I think STEEM as a blockchain could thrive if developers continue to pluck away at individual projects. I find it sad however that a lot of these projects receive no funding by the guys that conceived this fintech. That's really none of my business & leaves me personally feeling conflicted. I'm glad smart tokens can solve that, given there's enough people trading on Steem's network.

Just because buying votes is common does not make it a good thing for Steem as a platform. Too many people are just in a dash for cash and the trending page is largely junk due to this.

Of course we cannot stop people buying votes and the freedom we have is a major attraction of Steem.

We have the issue of people not joining did to a lack of big names and the stars won't join if the audience is small.

I agree entirely.

Congratulations @senseiteekay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @senseiteekay! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Just saw your name mentioned on an old post and it made me wonder, where'd you go?