You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Thoughts About SteemIt After Using It For A Week

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Nice post and a few things I also agree with. I'm also new here and been very surprised at the amount of money some posts get. I scratch my head at why the post got so much attention because a lot of them are uninteresting and even boring, yet earn thousands.

I wouldn't bet against SI becoming a bit like Instagram in future once the mainstream learn there's good money to be made.

The money incentive will always skew peoples judgement and it suddenly becomes all about the money. All actions are designed to make more at any costs, hence why whales get so much attention for ordinary posts. The commenter secretly hopes the whale will notice him/her and follow back. So a few posts get a ridiculous number of votes for very unremarkable content.

I hope I'm wrong, but it wouldn't surprise me if within the next 6-12 months SteemIT becomes more like Instagram and the money flows to the prettiest girls with the biggest t*ts who aren't afraid to flash a lot of flesh. I guess it's human nature.

Anyway, all that aside, it's like any social media platform or a blog. If you make 6 posts and get frustrated, you better give up now. It all takes time and a lot of content. It all adds up but the start is always tough.

I suspect there are probably better times to post than others too. Facebook seems to die on Friday nights and Saturday. Post then and nobody is around to see it, so it soon gets drowned out in the noise. With SteemIT you need immediate eyeballs to get interest and keep momentum.
I've often been surprised at how a simple and ordinary Introduction post can get hundreds of dollars. Doesn't make much sense. So it must be the timing of the post more than anything.

As for the "Follow me and I follow you" types, well ... forget them. They'll eventually leave after not making any money. These types of people usually have no clue how to create even average content, so that only leaves easy common tactics to gain followers.

Keep posting man, and take a step back. Stop trying to make it happen and let it happen naturally on it's own and study how the platform works. Sure it may take six months until you're earning well, but these things always take time. I doubt there's many overnight success stories here.

Hang in there.

Sort:  

@simant, you are 100% right. I feel the same way.
I agree with you that this needs work in order for it to succeed, but the way it works right now and the lack of referral program makes it unappealing for serious writers / Youtubers / Musicians / marketers (and the list goes on..) to move their activity and brain power to SteemIt..

You could also look at it like this - you bring followers from other platforms and suddenly you have many more SteemIT followers and your earnings rise from that. There is no need for an affiliate program. Build your audience organically and you'll be fine.

Why should there be a need for referrals ? We earn by posting so that's incentive enough. Or stay on other channels and earn nothing for posting ! In my mind there's only one way. Create good stuff and keep at it. Do that enough and it will happen.

I think there's probably too many people on here who thought this was a get-rich-quick method and become frustrated when they quickly find out it isn't. Not for one second saying I think that about you, but you can sense a lot of frustration in newbies who post reasonable content and earn nothing when there's lots of average/boring content that's banking big.

Wish you all the best. Following.

UnboxTherapy is one of the most popular tech channels on YouTube with over 300,000 subscribers. Watch the unboxing of new gadgets, reviews and hear about thoughts on all sorts of gadgets including PC components, smartphones, tablets and even peripherals like keyboards and gaming consoles. Benchmark testing on mobile cameras and PC components included.

VERY GOOD POST, YOU ARE ONE OF THE BEST BOLGUEROS I KNOW, YOU SEE THAT YOU ARE VERY INFORMED, CONGRATULATIONS. FOLLOW SUCCESS