To Comment or To Post made ridiculously simple for newbies and beginners!!

in #steemit7 years ago

Hey guys!! I'm back again with another steemit tutorial!!

If you haven't already, make sure to read the previous "Made ridiculously simple for beginners and newbies" posts at @simplifylife

If you have read the previous posts, you might have realized by now that to have your posts earn some money, you need to have some money to begin with. For a lot of beginners it's not possible to invest or put some money into steemit for various reasons. whatever your reasons are, you still need to have a few SBD in your wallet to get started. But as a beginner, any posts you make hardly makes a few cents.

So how do we get that initial kick?

COMMENTING.

Guys, Guys Guys Guys!! I can't emphasize this enough!! When you start out on steemit, you must start commenting on other people's posts.

I have heard a lot of people say when you start out, forget making your own posts. Just comment. I don't necessarily agree with this. Commenting is most important, but making a few of your own posts every week is also equally important (i'll tell why in a bit) even if you are making ZERO of your posts.

So, why should you be commenting?

Not just to start making money (i'll get to that in a bit), but to start building a connection with people who are on steemit. Yes, an upvote is a great way to show appreciation and I'm grateful to all those who have been upvoting my posts. But unless you make a comment and open the doors for a small conversation, our relation stay just at me being grateful for your upvote!! This relation and interaction no matter if it makes you some money or not, is essential. Because when you are regularly interacting with an author, the author will eventually be interested to check out you profile and read you posts (this is why i said making a few of your own posts every week is also very important besides commenting). Maybe they'll give you an upvote, maybe they'll start commenting on you posts and all of a sudden you start getting genuine interactions on your posts (and if you have read my previous posts, you already know why getting quick interactions on your posts is absolutely essential for us beginners).

Commenting is the only way to build a long term relation with your followers and people you follow. As I have said in one of my previous posts, when you start out on steemit, don't take this as an earning platform. Instead, look at this as a way of connecting with people and a way for self development. Earnings will start coming when they need to. Don't fuss too much over it.

Now, the second part is, how to start earning by commenting?

For this what you need to do is, you have find some of the big, nice guys on steemit. By big guys I mean people with a lot of whalepower, whose upvotes are worth good money. By nice guys i mean people who are willing to help other people out and give nice upvotes on the comments on their posts.

There are many big guys out here, but not everyone is a nice guy. Not mentioning any names, but I have interacted with someone, who gave me an upvote on my comment of worth $0.05 (my comment was a well thought out, nicely written one) and then he replied to comment with a thanks and gave himself an upvote worth $1.3!! Now i'm not saying what he did is illegal. he absolutely has all the right to do what he did. All i'm saying it wasn't very nice.

But there are a lot of people out there who will give you nice upvotes worth starting from $0.5 to even upto a couple of bucks!! And if you are really luck maybe about $6-7. You just have to spend some time and find these people. When you find someone with over 10000 Sp or so, go to their posts and run through a few comments and see if they giving nice upvotes to people who appreciate their posts. Steemit is a great community and there are much more nice people than the not nice ones!! So keep looking!!

I think if you start commenting on a few people's post and start getting good upvotes, within a couple of weeks you'll have about $2-3 in your account and that will be enough to start investing in your own posts and your posts will now start generating more money for you to invest further.

If you are starting to lose hope, just remember guys, I started out with zero SBD in my wallet just like you guys, and 3 weeks later my account is worth ~$40 after just about 3 weeks!! So don't lose hope!! For some people it will take longer, for some lesser. It doesn't matter!!

I'll just say a few more words about making your own posts before wrapping up this post!!

When you are making your first few posts, don't expect to start making money. Rather focus on finding your own style of making posts (that is, if you're not a blogger already). Everyone has different ways of writing. Experiment with your posts a bit to find out how you feel comfortable writing.

Next, make sure you get used to the Markdown Styling Guide. It makes editing and styling your posts so much more efficient if you already know which symbols to use to make your words italic or bold.

Untitled.jpg

If you're a complete beginner to blogging like me to, then at first you'll find it very difficult to write or even figure what to write about. It's okay.

Your first few posts might not really be some high quality posts. But if you're practicing making posts regularly and trying to improve your writing with every post, then i'm sure by the time you've earned enough from commenting to start investing on your own posts, you'll be writing quality posts very easily!! So Keep calm and Keep Steeming!!

P.S. 1 : As my attempt to help out beginners, I will be giving away free SBD 1.5 each to two random users who either upvotes or comments on this post, for every $10 this post makes!! (I can't give away more because I need to at least make up for the amount i'll be investing on this post. Sorry about that). So if this post makes $20, i'll be giving SBD 1.5 each to 4 people!! Make sure you do your best to increase this post's earnings haha!!

P.S. 2 : I am currently experimenting with a few more techniques to increase earning from our posts. Will share with you guys soon if I think they're worth it!! But I still don't have too much money to experiment with so I need to be cautious as well not to lose all I have in my wallet!! So the more i'll make the more i'll be able to teach you guys!!

Alright guys!! That's all for now!! You know what to do!!

Start Upvoting to increase your Curation Rewards. Resteem this post and maybe more people out there might find this useful.

If you enjoy medical topics, health tips, or steemit tutorials for beginners and newbies, please make sure to follow me at @simplifylife

If you would be kind enough to support me, you can donate to the following :

Bitcoin : 1CvZsKeSHwN5xLnEr6TmAUXjFbSpemogQd
Litecoin : LbBvWXDj1mnuUxH1iaGUVzwgBpBi54Yp7A
Ethereum : 0xf0b5578f97d45bf6eb70b49032c91f9f65b38866
Digibyte : DNt7uSKyvp9Qr8wQ4H1fyBmm5h4SAv2RS6
Siacoin : 50ea17b6f3e1ac2dc343d85b079b1975d2f713b74ea880ac36c159624e74a1e264c7f1c415b8
DOGEcoin : DGijrEyCARM6tAhxBT9Jwzw6XRaCzqQ2P3

STEEM and STEEM Dollars are welcome too!!

Peace!!

Sort:  

I would comment but you don't have enough steem power to make it worthwhile.
Sorry dude ... :)

Hehehe I see what you did there!! Good one lol!!

I never lose an opportunity for a good laugh. Cheers .

Hey good way to encourage the community to interact more and create more meaningful content. Keep on making these guides as a newbie I appreciate them.

Thank you very much!! I'm glad you found this helpful!!

I am learning so much new info here it is a bit overwhelming.I agree with what you say about making connections the bloging part is difficult for me.I need to keep on driving myself and not get discouraged it seems pretty difficult sometimes.

Yes it gets quite difficult at the start!! But steem on!! You'll get the idea pretty soon!!

Good Luck!!
Cheers!!

Comments are good way to build relationships. I agree.

I guess it was serendipity when I chose to do comments first before I made my first post. I didn't know that commenting was actually the first thing to do when someone's new on Steemit. :P

Hahaha you are a natural talent then I guess :P

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 4000 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

Nice tips! Would you say its better hold Dollars or Steem power?

For now, we don't really know where steem is heading, but it's definitely on the uprise!! It's difficult to predict what's gonna happen in the coming years, so I'm holding a bit of everything!! Whatever i get in steem power, I'm NOT going to power down. And usually I like to keep around 10 Steem dollars in my account, and whenever i'm significantly above 10, i'll convert the additional dollars to STEEM (not steem power, because i'm getting steem power from post payouts anyway).

So it's kind of about having a balance between these three. But my preference is to have a bit of everything!!

nice, I was converting every cent of Steem dollars into Steem power...

I would suggest to still keep some in SBD to use for the upvoting services once in a while :) Maybe around 5-6 SBD should be enough, depending on the frequency of posts you make.

@simplifylife A pleasant put up..I am exciting. Resteemed.
Wonderful put up and really useful. Have learnt a good deal from it. Resteemed.

Thank you very much!! I'm glad you found this helpful!!

Good luck!!