Sort:  

Here ya go:

Everything you Need to Get Started Fast with Steemit, Social Media that Pays [Complete Tutorial with Screencast]
https://steemit.com/steemit/@georgedonnelly/everything-you-need-to-get-started-fast-with-steemit-social-media-that-pays-complete-tutorial-with-screencast

I've had some issues Myself
With Posting, Make A Post and Put #steem-help
at the bottom bar, and You should get answers
Tons Of tutorials on Youtube as well

I feel your pain. I'm in the same boat. I discovered Steemit a few days ago. I learn by trial and error, mostly error, since most of the explanations are 'greek to me'.

Welcome to the club.

It's definitely not the easiest thing to figure out, but keep at it, learning each piece as you need it with the tutorials. I would recommend recent info. I think you can do more formatting with markdown compared to the built-in editor, and I'm starting to feel more comfortable with it.

Useful things to do:

(1) find people who write well or share good info; follow them (they will be in your feed)

(2) comment in a detailed way on posts that are meaningful to you. This is especially useful on posts in the New category--look for a pulldown symbol next to Trending to find New. Note: a lot of people are plagiarizing, so I spot check paragraphs on Google on well-written posts

(3) generally support other people by following, commenting, and upvoting when the content is worthy

(4) share yourself, your creativity, and your knowledge with the community; for God's sake don't rip off other people's work; proofread your own work; provide visuals

(5) don't expect to make much money initially, and be delighted if you do

(6) promote your posts (this is the part I'm bad at, but there are a lot of good Marketing posts to help you with this, such as this one by @steemrocket that I read tonight: https://steemit.com/marketing/@steemrocket/supercharge-your-steemit-post-traffic-using-these-9-tactics

(7) don't worry that you don't understand it all yet

(8) look for info re chat. I have signed up but haven't spent time on that yet

(9) avoid flagging until you understand when to flag.

I've been on the site only a short time, but I no linger feel like a total newbie. Good luck.

Well described

Congratulations @smokeymirror! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @smokeymirror! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!