Sort:  

There are currently teams working on spotting flaggable content, which can be assimilated to moderators work.

there are pros and cons to those teams. While they do a great job on catching the copy/paste artists who try to game the system, they do get carried away with themselves and their sense of authority at times.

I think checks and balances are important. The biggest challenge is how to effectively put them into place that the wrong people can be removed when they show themselves to be the wrong choice.

I’m not a big fan of the current Steemit police neither and I had many episodes with them in the past.
I would not be surprised if they are part of this last campaign against me.
What I was mentioning is more like moderators who follow clear rules to flag posts and who are picked based on criteria like stake in the platform and reputation/experience.

Yes very partial. We need a Neutral Zone. But who is going to back me up?