You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is there a whale voter cult on Steemit? Yes, and it's killing Steemit!

in #steemit7 years ago

Thanks for taking the time to explain this. I'm not sure that I fully understand how Steemit works. I have been upvoted on some posts by some whales... but I have no idea how they saw my post unless they managed to see it when it was at the top of the scroll, OR they were interested in some obscure catagory/topic I posted in and went to look in the archives. Personally 95% of what I see when I look at "new" posts or just created are spam or junk. I'm always looking for interesting new information just because I love learning about the world and I'm endlessly curious about the people in it. I've invested over $100 in Steemit, and I've made maybe $5.00 in total (if that) by posting 4-10 articles a day and commenting intelligently and thoughtfullly on topics and posts that are of genuine interest to me. But I have to confess... It feels like I am spinning my wheels here. On Facebook I have 1800 + friends from a variety of circles and backgrounds, political leanings etc.. I use facebook to curate my news by crowdsourcing. It's effective even if only 1-2% of my friends see my posts. When I post something worthwhile that is touching or moving or particularly well written, I will get 20 + likes and sometimes that many comments... So for me to make a good comparison between the two platforms I will need to have 1800 followers and see if I'm getting anywhere near the kind of response I get on facebook. I used to be a journalist and I still am an amateur writer. I like story telling and I love journalism.. I have an idea about how Investigative journalism could be crowd-sourced here on Steemit via micropayments... but I've not yet met any fellow journalists to share the idea with. It would be like a SNOPES.... but asking people to pay for the cost to research and wiki the topics in advance to cover the costs of research and debunking.... Anyways... I really enjoyed this post... hope to hear from you. Cheers