You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fifty-Word Fiction Frenzy: A Community Collaboration - Round Three

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

PLEASE RESPOND TO THIS COMMENT WITH YOUR ENTRIES.

We are aiming for 50-100 words but, if you are slightly over or under, the community will decide whether or not to upvote your submission based on the quality of the content.

After making a submission, please also vote for your favourite(s) and resteem so that others can do the same. We need to have a clear winner in order to progress to the next round. GOOD LUCK!

Sort:  

It's hard to reminisce about your shortcomings with the barrel of a pistol rammed between your ribs, and I found my attention returned to the piercing stare that Arty was casting upon me. a painful jab from the barrel helped me in my refocusing effort.

"You're gonna do me a favor, Danny." He drawled with no hint of polite solicitation in his glacial tone.

He held my gaze as he reached inside his jacket and withdrew a manila envelope.

Frozen with fear, I showed no resistance as he ushered me off the train at the next stop. Four of his accomplices were waiting for us on the platform, though at the time I only noticed one. A vivacious brunette with piercing green eyes and hair down to her hips stood three feet ahead of me. A curious grin covered her face, as if she was happy to see my arrival.

The doors of the train closed, and we departed from the platform. I sat there, unable to think, with tunnel vision... shaking.
"Danny boy" Arty pressed the cold metallic object harder into my side, before removing it.
I breathed a sigh of relief.
"Listen carefully..." he said looking me in the eye, his gold tooth glinting against the lights of the platform, like the beacon of a lighthouse; a warning.
As I sat there frozen in fear, he told me everything....

Throughout college till my debut on Wall Street, I was a beast. Nothing could stand in my way.
It was no coincidence that my rise up the corporate ladder was pretty swift. I knew those who wished I mysteriously slumped on my way to the top floor every morning. I knew them all; I thought I did.
That moment on the train with Arty made me realize there were some things I had no knowledge of; Like the fact that the metal I was terrified of was only a case housing the invitation a 'secret admirer' had sent.

haha, nice twist! :)

Lol. Upvote already 😂😂😂

“Here, put this on.” Arty pulled an old trench coat and baseball cap out of his bag.

“Walk with me, pal,” he sneered. “If you make a break for it I’m gunning you down.”

I didn’t need convincing; his narrow-eyed stare terrified me. I stood up and obeyed, even though my panicked mind was running through a list of alternatives – scream for help, or try to grab the gun, if it really was a gun he held in his pocket.