Travel to Spain anyone?

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello my sweet Steemians !

Ever traveled to Spain? What was your experience like?

I grew up there as a teen...my parents opened an Italian restaurant in Rota, Spain in 1981. I was a child then, but full of hope and excitement!.

My father retired from the Navy and my mother , being from Spain, wanted to return to her country. So they packed their 6 children and took a leap of faith and opened their first restaurant. It is still open and continues to be a favorite spot for many people, but especially our military.

2012-07-07 14.51.27.jpg

There are hats that have been donated to us by many of our former customers....some hats are collectables, and my mother will not part from them as they hold a sentimental value to all of us

2015-03-13 13.45.22.jpg

Some customers have a peculiar way of celebrating their birthday :)

11781634_1027529767278054_4458991129144025195_n.jpg

Spain is a place that holds my heart. There is something about the food, the culture, the history I just can't get enough of....and hey...the siestas are awesome!! Yep, they still close many of the small shops from 2-4:30-5:00 pm :)

So, what do you do when the shops and stores are closed? Well, if siesta is not your thing....try the beach!

20150502_132836.jpg

20150502_133016-2.jpg

These pictures were from Rota Spain only...I have more to share with my family steemians soon !!

In the meantime, stay awesome my steemians!! And please share your experiences, I would love to hear from you all !

Sort:  

Congratulations @spanishlace! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @spanishlace! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!