Facebook bug that i found thats is a bit surprising. Warning!!!!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Facebook Bug

To start off with i have noticed for a while after go through the video feeds my browser and PC started acting funny. Like I was having huge resource lag issues. Every time i went to check the task manager it showed everything was fine so i decided to leave it open i checked all the sites i was normally on and didn't notice any issues what so i continued to talk to people on Facebook. Plus watch videos and looked over to the side of my screen.

Well for some reason my browser was using up to 100mbps+ but all i had on was Facebook and screen shots i had been taking which use little to no resources so then i noticed my browser crashed. Turns out every time you click the greater than sign > my bandwidth continued to climb to way higher then any site should be using.

How i did it in detail:

Go to any video by clicking on it till you see the page where other videos show up and you can keep going to the next video.

In most cases this is done by double clicking the video.

Keep clicking next and keep on clicking even if you do it slow over time the resources Facebook is using just keeps growing it even bogs down your video card.

Sooner or later you will see this

Look at resources its using i have used 3 pc/laptops to test this method on multiple accounts.

Checking the task manager

After it bogs down refresh the page it will glitch out with a content encoding error or just completely crash all together or the pc/browser becomes unresponsive.


Current specs of the PC i tested this on and end results of this.

I have submitted the bug already so from what i know I'm the first to find it. But i thought id share my findings with the community and warning users to be careful. If a computer with specs that this once has can be bogged down I'm pretty sure Facebook could crash lower end computers with this bug and people with bandwidth caps could be effected by this if they aren't paying close attention. So make sure to keep track how much bandwidth your using even if you're using a hotspot it can have the same effect. I have not tested this on mobile yet so I'm not sure how it might effect mobile users.

In the two hours i was testing this method facebook used over 2gb worth of bandwidth.

One more reason to favor Steemit over Facebook.

Sort:  

Flagged for tag abuse, please correct this so I can unflag.

Um what tags are you meaning?

Steem Steemit

It won't allow me to delete the first tag so not much i can do about that one
i guess you can't delete the first tag you place because of the site.

I don't use facebook :]

Well i guess that's one way not to experience it.

Update this bug is also effected by images just not as severe.