Smaller Video File Sizes | Quick Pro Tip

in #steemit6 years ago

Recording videos can get out of hand really quickly…

Now that 4K is starting to become an industry standard, your video files can get upwards of 1-10GB’s! Honestly the world just isn’t ready for that kind of bandwidth yet, and most video platforms (even @dtube) still struggle with video encoding at High-Definition.

However, there is a way to shrink your file sizes and still have great quality!

This tip is (yet again) for Adobe Premiere Pro

After you have completely finished your project and are ready to render/export it, head to the export menu in Premiere

Screen Shot 2018-01-06 at 12.10.25 PM.png

Under export settings, select H.264 as the format. Under preset, select “Match Source - High bitrate”
If you want your file even a little smaller, you can select “Match Source - Medium bitrate”
If you go any lower chances are you will notice heavy quality decrease in your video!

Screen Shot 2018-01-06 at 12.10.48 PM.png

That’s it! It’s a great way to compress your file size and still have great high definition content! Remember however that @dtube compresses your file to 480p for standard viewing anyways!

If you liked this tip feel free to share it with others!


I believe that everything I desire to accomplish, will in fact be accomplished.
@spenceryan

Follow me on Instagram
Follow me on my second Instagram
Follow me on Facebook
Follow me on steemit

Sort:  

Good stuff. Here's an honest question for your @spenceryan so do you think folks who watch the videos really want high resolution 4k video? How about 1080p? Do you think videos being at 480p only is an issue? Thanks in advance.

That's a good question @captainbob! Truthfully, I don't feel like 4k or even 1080 is a necessary standard at the moment. However 480 is a little too low. I believe right now the industry standard to be comfortable is 720. Realistically even Youtube only shows in 480 until it determines that you have a good enough connection but it annoys the mess out of me! I always take the extra step to click 720.

I tend to agree with you @spenceryan. I think for most of the things I watch, i'm pretty satisfied with 720p, occasionally if it is a really cinematic video, I might full screen and load up 1080p, but I have zero interest nor the monitor to truly benefit from 4K at the point although I've loaded up several videos of my own on youtube at 4K just to see if my viewership was interested. I'm like you though, I'm pretty sick of the demonetization mess that's going on so I'm a fan of D.Tube

I love these pro tips! Thank you! Haven’t moved away from my stock “iMovie” yet hahah but eventually I’ll need to and now I’ll know where to go for the tips!

Yess! You can still do some awesome stuff with iMovie so don't worry!! 😁

Informative post about a useful tool to deal with high quality videos. Good effort for helping others.... :))

Glad I could help!

Nice post @spenceryan. With the world of videography picking up, its good to know how to keep the files small, but still looking great. Will be using your tips for sure!

Glad I could help! Definitely stay tuned for more!

I hear Pied Piper is gonna revolutionize this space. Not sure they are sticking with the name though.

Hey @mavedaxwell, not sure I understood what you were referring to?