The permanency of content on steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

As you may have noticed by my previous post, I've just decided to share my WordPress blog link, instead of pasting it in or using SteemPress, the plugin that will allow me to post my WordPress content directly into steem.

You see, I'm new to this site, and I don't think that it's a "make money online & fast scheme", I can see genuine content being shared and the financial reward for it, no matter how high, is a major improvement for content creators who are finally getting recognised! However, I still have my doubts. Contrary to other blogging platforms, not all content seems to have an artistic value, and there are definitely those who want to abuse the system. For me, it's a good way to share my content with a wider audience and maybe gain momentum so I can help my writing career grow.

And then came the doubts...

Is this a good idea? Do you really want to expose yourself to another site? But perhaps the most worrying of all factors: Do you want to make this permanent? And that's because contrary to all other sites I've visited, stuff on here stays here, forever. And this kind of freaks me out because I'm used to having the freedom of editing and taking down my own work if I felt like it. And to me, this is the biggest fault in steemit. A site that promotes being fair to its content creators prohibits them from editing and deleting what they've published: This is not what writing and or content creation is about! Writers make mistakes, which they need to edit at times, sometimes you want to take something and to post something on here, knowing that you've lost total control over it. Knowing that it stays here forever and that you have no control over it whatsoever. That creeps me out.

So, who knows how long I'll keep this up. I'll give it my best, and I will try. But I will refrain from posting my quality content which I post on my main blog (sradakovic.wordpress.com) on here. Mainly because I want to the keep the freedom of having control over it.

So what do you think of the rules on steemit? Let me know, maybe you can help me out!

Sort:  

All old stuff is burred, rarely someone reads old stuff.

Congratulations @sradakovic! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sradakovic! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!