How much interest does Steem Power pay out?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

This post is actually a question for the community.  I'm a Steemit noob and I'm still feeling my way around this new platform.  I must say that I really like what I see so far.  However, I need some clarification on some things.  I've read that a person's Steem Power receives interest.  I've seen the 10 percent interest number mentioned several times.  However, if this is true, does this interest compound and how frequently does it compound?  Is it a projected Annual Percentage Rate (APR) or Annual Percentage Yield (APY)?  Or am I too stuck in conventional financial thinking?  

If we could have a meaningful discussion of this topic in the comments, I would greatly appreciate it.

Sort:  

i'm seeing the same thing 1 % a day which is crazy. well maybe not with the 100 % inflation right.

Based on what I've seen in the short time I've been here, a little more than 1% per day (a 37.78 multiplier per year).

I think this is how it works!
Here is a Steem Power Calculator I came across!
The more steem power you own the higher the percentage rate of interest.
For example if you have 10 steem power you will get an additional
2.185 steem power in 30 days
If you have 100 steem power you will get 21.85 in 30 days
If you have 1000 steem power you will get 218.5 in 30 days
and so on
Here's the calc https://jscalc.io/calc/KcEkRo6qv2s8CM6S

https://steemit.com/steem/@deeprocks/steem-power-interest-calculator-updated

Actually, the percentage is the same no matter how much Steem Power you have. As you can clearly see from your own example.

would you happen to know if this information is still the same? thinking about getting in

more votes to this pls

 8 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment