[PROPOSAL] SteemDAO | I will be creating a DAO on Steemit | I will be developing the whitepaper for the SteemDAO over the next couple of weeks

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Introducing SteemDAO

Hello world,

This is my first ever post on Steemit. I have been lurking on Steemit for a few weeks now, reading a lot of the content and just trying to get a feel for the community that I am beginning to consider my new home and that has sprung to life, entering into my cerebral cortex over the past few weeks. Synapses are firing.

I think there are some really exciting opportunities available here, but I have decided to focus on one idea - a SteemDAO. If you don't know what a DAO is, a good (or bad) example could be The DAO that was built on top of the Ethereum network. Unfortunately, this particular DAO was hacked. We can do better.

I am seeing a lot of completely new ideas being born on this platform, and I believe that some of them will require funding to get off the ground. That is where SteemDAO comes in.

The magic about Steemit is, is it allows us to create the same sort of organizational structure as that of the Ethereum DAO, without a lot of the overhead that was required by developers of the DAO. In other words, the voting structures, crowdfunding infrastructures, are already built right into Steemit already. Almost a turnkey solution... almost.

I intend to create a decentralized autonomous organization, which will, at its most basic level, be used primarily as an investment vehicle within Steemit. I will call it the SteemDAO, and it will allow a collection of Steemians to collectively vote, and 100% democratically decide to invest in clever ideas that pop up within the Steemit community, that may need funding to get off of the ground.

The basic idea will be to generate proposals for interesting campaigns, and create crowdfunds for each campaign. If you feel that a particular campaign would be a worthwhile investment, you will be able to vote on the proposal, and submit funds to the proposal. From there, the way we use those funds is completely up to the stakeholders. Profits will be evenly split among each of the SteemDAO stakeholders, proportional to their initial investment amounts into each campaign and/or proposal.

Through raising funds via proposals and crowdfunds within Steemit, I would like to create an organization that allows for a democratic voting of how the SteemDAOs funds are to be used.

I believe this would be an immense opportunity and a great use case for Steemit.

What do you think, are you interested in joining SteemDAO? Obviously this is just my first introduction, and there is a lot of work and thinking to be done behind the scenes to make this work. I believe I have some pretty solid ideas on how to make this work, and I hope it could turn into a completely 100% collaborative effort among all of the SteemDAO stakeholders.

So what do you think Steemit? Would you like to SteemDAO?

Would love to hear your initial thoughts, comments, questions and concerns.

A journey of a thousand miles, begins with one step

#steemit #steem #money #introduceyourself #blockchain

Sort:  

Any idea, even a thousand ideas is welcome, to simply make the world a better place. Every idea is worth considering.

@solidgold, what a refreshing breathe of fresh air! Excited to hear this is the sentiment on this platform. Let's roll!

:)

Welcome to the BlockChain ; follow Steemian ; )

I think I like it here, lovely to meet such a wonderful community. I knew you were all out there somewhere. :P

It is a really old piece of advice ; but still a really good piece of advice . Hang out around positive people ; try and avoid the negatives and the doubters.

Work to improve yourself and your attitude and communication skills. This can only help you in Real Life as well as your personal and professional activities...

Everyone around me including my life partner and kids have said ; your writing is terribly boring and impossible to understand at times nearly. So here in steemland I plan on creating my own College level skills course around this Social Media platform.

I am working to communicate more efficiently, more effectively plus with far more respect to those people who may spend their time stopping to read the words of a complete unknown stranger. Who knows maybe I will learn a better attitude, personal knowledge and improved interpersonal skills ; plus have some fun, maybe make an online friend or two...

As well as earning some gold : )

See you in the steemuniverse...

/ hugz ; )

Yes yes yes! This is an amazing idea! Welcome to Steem! :D

A perfect use case for your idea, I have just proposed Steemtopia, if you have a moment please take a read at what we are trying to achieve.

Your idea is a perfect solution for our situation. I will be keeping a close eye in my feed for your updates, please make sure to let me know as to the progress of #SteemDAO.

Do you have some steemit projects already in mind that may benefit from your proposal? If so, I would love to hear about them, when you are ready of course... :D

Followed and upvoted.

Thank you!

Your project is very interesting! This is exactly the sort of project I have in mind for SteemDAO.

I will definitely keep in touch with you.

I have followed you to make sure I can stay all up to date with what is happening.

In regards to projects I am currently considering, I do have a small list, but would prefer to announce the various projects once I publish the whitepaper.

Would love to add yours to the mix!

Legend!

An ambitious but welcome project ...upvoted and followed !!

I will be making updates over the coming days in regards to this project.

Keep an eye out for us.

Thank you for the support! :)

I would be pleased to participate, excellent idea.