What if people start selling their votes?!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

As always, hello to all steemians. I apologize for not beeing word-perfect in English. I am from germany and always trying to improve my english :)


A few moments ago a dolphin gave me an up vote for this post. 


Suddenly i thought "what if people would give this guy money for up votes"?


And to be honest, i have no idea. Would it drive the Steem price down to the bottom because people would just buy votes and sell their Steem/SBD? Are there any restrictions which would prevent this? Please tell me, i think thats a serious issue.


@steemit, @steem, @dan, @dantheman

Sort:  

If your steem name gets associated with voteselling, a whale bot will come and downvote everywhere you vote, to minimize your impact and no longer make it profitable.

Selling votes will not be that big of a problem in the long run. (...and you'd have to be a complete idiot thinking you can make more money selling votes, than you could other ways).

a few moments ago i thought the same, the community showed already how good it self regulates the posts. For example the case with the fake heorin addicted woman.
Thank you! :)

I posted asking if anyone was selling votes on bitcointalk just to see the response unbelievably i had no replies so i think at the minute no-one is selling votes which is good news !

Guys, does nobody have an answer?!

If both parties know how steemit algorithms work then there is no real point in offering money for a vote.

  1. Voting ( curating ) will earn money for Voter as subjective contribution to the system.
  2. So the question is what the monetary value is, and why the voter decide to sell it outside the platform.
  3. Larger the SP more weight the voting carries and these users have better knowledge of how the voting works , unless you pay above the odds they won't sell their votes.
  4. Some users without knowledge could sell their votes for a short time before they figure this out , but that makes no difference due to lack of SP in those accounts.

I know when in steemit will exists personal messages, the idea of selling their votes will be true

It will be like a marker.

Sorry to say that, but nothing can prevent it.

are you sure? :/ dont you view that as an issue that could bring steemit to fall?

It is an interesting idea and I'm still experimenting with upvotes and how it affects me when I upvote stuff I like. I'm sharing the love hard out there but i don't have that much power right now. It is so tough to gain the attention of dolphins and whales but you know what..... We are so lucky to be on Steemit. I just made a post talking about the reasons we are so lucky! It is a must read. https://steemit.com/steem/@brianphobos/why-steemit-users-are-so-lucky-right-now-3-main-reasons

I think it's true

It's all about money.

I can certainly see people selling their votes if the content is good, and that's not a problem. If someone approaches me with a post that I think is great but hadn't noticed before and offers to pay me for an upvote, I'd certainly consider it. It's a win for them, a win for me, and a win for the community (since the content is good).

By contrast if someone offered me money to upvote crap content, I'd have to decline. It would be awfully short sighted of me to reward crap for a couple bucks now thereby jeopardizing the long-term credibility of Steem.

But, to some degree this problem is self-regulating. The people posting crap content are not likely to have the money to buy my vote. By contrast, the people who post great content would likely have a ton of money to buy my vote, but they wouldn't really need my vote at that point.

So, I don't see this as a long term problem. It will be interesting to see how things play out though.

you could just vote your own post up and cash out, so you would not have to sell your vote, right?

that would be sad..to buy your votes