A MESSAGE TO THE WHALES FROM THE KING OF STEEMIT!

in #steemit7 years ago

This software will only gain mainstream adoption if all content is valued.

Currently you whales are only giving value to cryptocurrency and steemit (C&S) related content. Because you all control so much of the steemit economy everyone is following suit. This is creating a self fulfilling closed loop, whereby new users are incentivized to create and upvote C&S posts, creating new C&S posts, and more value in this content, for new users to see and begin the cycle anew. This is driving away multitudes of potential users and content creators and it needs to stop if we are ever to achieve mass adoption.

I'm here to lead the charge toward real content gaining momentum on this blockchain and refuse to yield to posting C&S content, even though the majority of my knowledge and interest lies in these topics and it is obviously a more lucrative strategy.

It is imperative that the whales follow suit in curating appropriately. I'm not asking for my content to be curated. I'm informing you that your steem will rise in value if you break this cycle and explore other areas of content because more accounts will come, and will stay if they see that all content is valued, not just steem specific content. I fear that it may be too late for this ecosystem however, as I suspect many whales are up voting with bots, and the most logical and lucrative place to upvote would be in C&S content.

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

Images were hidden due to low ratings.
Sort:  

What are you talking about buddy?

All the whales do is create their own posts, generally pertaining to Steemit and or cryptocurrency, and then proceed to 100% up-vote themselves.

Oh, and when the're not doing that, they're up-voting little Asian girls who travel the world, and then post about it on Steemit... so I think your analysis on 🐳 is a bit flawed my friend.

Nailed it!
Melissa

Ha ha, hopefully they nix the whole voting on your own shit crap, or else this platform is going to hurt long-term, or people could just accept the fact that it's just another blogging social website, instead of treating it like it owes them something.

Because they don't want to piss off the whales. 🐳

You bring about some very good points on the Long Term Viability of the STEEMIT platform and how we can discourage NOOBS from giving up if they feel they are not valued for the Content that they produce. The best way to be successful on STEMMIT is to be consistent. Whether you post content EVERYDAY or comment EVERYDAY in a thoughtful and meaningful way. Also you must be willing to put some SKIN in the game and that means you should be willing to make purchases of STEEM. For some people having extra funds to buy more STEEM may not be easy, Nobody said life is easy. You must be willing to sacrifice something else you currently spend money on in order to add to your STEEM account. Enough of my long winded rambling. Just do the BEST YOU can each day, the REWARDS will come..............................

Very true we have to buy Steem. For that we need Bitcoin wallet and convert to steem?

Very well said.

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

Well said - I've tried to introduce a bunch of my friends. A few signed up, but none have stayed, because, in their own words, "It seems to only be about itself."

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

This post received a 1.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @steemking777! For more information, click here!

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! Readers might be interested in similar content by the same author:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemking777/a-message-to-the-whales-from-the-king-of-steemit

Interesting post!

This post has received a 11.31 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @steemking777.

Actually, sometimes I feel it would pay off much better if I took photographs and posted those, as opposed to cryptocurrency news. I see a bunch of simple photo-posts make just as much as my lengthiest posts. As far as I can see, yes there are more rewards in the cryptocurrency and steemit posts but there is also a significantly bigger pool and lots more competition for those rewards.

I would try out all the other categories myself, but most of my followers followed me because of cryptorelated things so I don't really want to scare anybody away by post all kinds of other stuff!

Yes the problem is that a whale can post the same news, but do it worse, and still get 100x more views and votes.
I think they are working on improvements. One I really like is the addition of smaller subcommunities surrounding a certain subject. That should allow people to stand out much better within certain subcommunities.

nice ! @steemking77

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

I also noticed that tendency on steemit. Cryptocurrency and Steemit contents are most valued in this community. And this can be very frustating for new members who get the impression that no matter what content they post they remain invisible. Steemit has lots of flaws and the founders @ned @dan need to do something about it to keep members and attract new ones. I find the interaction amongst members is not very easy. When will the alpha version of steemit be available ? Because the Beta version is so obsolete. Anyways I encourage people to hang in there and to keep on writing if they believe in Steemit ! Be Yoursel, be different :)

i agree its bad but not all whales are that way. I know a few who manually curate only. How upvote and leave genuine comments. Sadly this is not the norm. Something does need to change to even the playing field. Anyone can pay to be a star on steemit.

Great post and I think your spot on!!

Your welcome
Have a great day

I knew I liked you for a reason....now it is a crush! FANTASTIC POST...as you know, first hand, how much I put into each post and curation...while having broken feet I have not much else to do currently ...but pretty soon I will be more up and about, so not sure i will still be that interested if I do not feel more love ...so to speak...SPOT ON!
Blessings resteemed
Melissa

oh well..God is good in all things....Chin up!
hard work never hurts anyone, at least it never has me!
Blessings,
Melissa