Steemit stats: The only way is up (or down)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I can't resist checking the stats for the Steemit site. The global Alexa rank is still climbing nicely at 962 today. We crossed the 1000 point a few days ago. What's really interesting is the variation in countries. A few of the top countries such as the US and Korea are losing viewer share and their ranks are falling. I'm sure the US was up to around 500 and it was top 200 in Korea a while back. Germany and India are on the rise. India has massive potential. I know some will fear a huge influx of people from that part of the world taking over, but I think Steemit has huge potential to change lives there. A friend in India says he has not joined up due to government resistance to cryptocurrencies. That's happening all over the world.

I think we could see Nigeria have the best rank soon. We have an active community there who are getting people to sign up.

Hypestat

I think the US will dominate for a while yet, but Steemit is becoming even more varied. It shouldn't all be in English. All cultures should be able to express themselves here. Maybe the site could integrate something like Google Translate to make it easier to read posts in other languages. I know a lot of people struggle with English, but they can still have something interesting to say.

My hunger for stats is being met by a range of sites. I just discovered Steem Ocean by @ura-soul. They rank users by various criteria. It's interesting that they show the top self-voters. Some of the biggest players are not helping the community much.

Steem Ocean

I think Steemit stands a good chance of continuing to gain visitors as it approaches a million accounts. I know many of those are not active, but some may come back. I've seen some people saying there's too much spam these days, but it's really not as bad as I would expect given there's money to be made. I know certain tags attract it more, but we can ignore or flag it to discourage them. Let's make Steemit the platform we want it to be.

Steem on!

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

I'll buy guitar picks for Steem Dollars

If this post is over seven days old you can vote up one of my newer posts to reward me.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

Sort:  

Interesting stats. I'll take time one day to do some analysis myself as i'm learning data science.

I should really write something to scrape all the numbers each day so I can see the trends. Just not had time. I see a few people collecting various stats about steemit. Having all the data available makes it possible

Hi @steevc
I'm actually from India and don't think Steemit has yet found out a base here.
I came across Steemit through coinmarketcap and I joined the platform the moment that I realized that this is gonna be the next big thing! I have talked my way through some of my friends and made them join the platform but they aren't quite active yet!
One thing is for sure, once Steemit explodes in India, the market is gonna go crazy!!!

It's a massive potential market. Is there resistance to cryptocurrency? There are all sorts of business opportunities with steemit

Our government is actually scared of cryptocurrencies. They try all sorts of ways to build a negative publicity towards it. Most of the people here think its illegal (it's really funny that they think so) and some them think that it is something that is frowned upon by the government.Once it gather mainstream popularity and gets support from the United States, the Indian govt. will have no choice but to make it a legal tender! Then we could see the crypto market rising up because as you said Indian market is huge!!! Once this happens and Steem breaks out in India, there is no looking back!

I like seeing these stats as well @steevc. I do agree with you, there should be a way for this platform to not be English centric, however, google translate is definitely not the solution. I learned this first hand during my 4 years in Chile. As closely related as English and Spanish are, translation is still very difficult for software to do. I've heard several people talk about trying to find a better way for more languages, but it's a very complicated problem to solve. I really enjoyed your post and thanks for making me think, I like that a lot.

There are a lot of people active in Steam, and I think it gets double the number of current subscribers, because it is a diverse cultural space that brings together all the people of the world, so we note the multiple nationalities in the sitem @steevc

I didn't know about steem ocean. That's very cool. I too look at alexa because the Steemit domain has great value for SEO. It says to me that every business on the web should have a steemit profile. It's valuable real estate for branding.

Thank you @steevc for the stats (and good news). Appreciate the heads up on Steem Ocean.

Good to see south Asian countries catching up...

Agreed with you. Or Facebook like 'Translate it' feature. People post on Facebook in their native languages.

I think the US will dominate for a while yet, but Steemit is becoming even more varied. It shouldn't all be in English. All cultures should be able to express themselves here. Maybe the site could integrate something like Google Translate to make it easier to read posts in other languages.

The Nigerian Community is doing a great job in promoting steemit

I think steemit is rising exponentially..
There is a problem with the sign up process right now. Otherwise we'd have already seen a lot more users

I hope they are working on that

I agree with you on this. I think it should be available in all the major languages so that entire population could be given the opportunity to steem. Anyways yayyy I'm from India and we are at number 5. Thanks for sharing this post.

Portugal could be a lot better at the table.

I am blissed by your post as usual.
You explain your every post so beautifully,that i couldn't stop myself by visiting and dropping my comment.
Keep your good works up.
Have a great time.

Try to make your comments more relevant if you want better rewards

trying men.
but thanks for your words.
not using this platform for reward just trying my best to spread my knowledge to the platform.

It's okay to give people some praise, but that can seem fake at times if you don't show that you read the post and give your own views. They are valid too. I get lots of 'nice post' comments, but then I see they write that everywhere. You want your contributions to appear genuine.

i will be careful.

@steevc,,,,,,,really so informative post......i agree with you,,,,,we should make a great steemit platform......and concentrate to earn our achievement,,,,,,,,,,

wow friend this is so amazing post and i really like your post dear friend...

You should know by now that generic comments may be regarded as spam. Honest opinions are better. No vote for you