Support the witnesses, and not just the top ones

in #steemit6 years ago

I just saw this post by @shadowspub about a proposal to show all the witnesses. Currently you just see the top 50 and have to know the names of any others.

If you don't know, witnesses run computers to process the Steem blockchain. They get to vote on changes to how it operates.

My witness voting strategy is to support those I see doing good for this platform and who are trying to move it in what I consider the right direction. Many of them have provided add-ons for the Steem platform and deserve some rewards for their work. The higher up the witness ranks they go the more chance they have of sharing the rewards and it's the users who decide who is worthy.

Here are some witnesses I support:

  • @pfunk sponsors the Open Mic contests. He's dropped a little in the ranks recently, so the prizes may have to be reduced depending on what he can afford to give.
  • @patrice works on some of the efforts to deal with spam and abuse on Steemit.
  • @dragosroua created Steem Supply that gives some cool stats on your earnings.
  • @sircork founded the @youarehope charity and also provides some Steem tools via Steem Agency.
  • @stoodkev created the excellent @steem-plus extension. That adds some features to show you which witnesses you voted for are active.
  • @demotruk is part of the Steem community in Ireland.
  • @isnochys shares his witness rewards for those who vote for him. It's only a small amount, but shows he wants to support the community.

You can cast your votes on the witness page. You can set a proxy who votes on your behalf. I assume you can set me as a proxy if you like.

I have two spare votes at the moment, so I welcome suggestions on who deserves them.

@shadowspub mentioned @ivoted that has a scheme to reward you with votes for voting for witnesses. You just have to post with a mention of them or use the #ivoted tag on a relevant post to get added.

So what are you waiting for? Support your friendly witnesses!

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

I'll buy guitar picks for Steem Dollars

Get a Wirex Debit Card to spend your crypto.

Get some passive income with Mannabase

If this post is over seven days old you can vote up one of my newer posts to reward me.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

Sort:  

I choose the best according to me according to your suggestion. Why @ivoted does not appear on steemd.com when I have chosen.

IMG_20180531_193000.jpg

Screenshot_2018-05-31-19-28-37-114_com.android.chrome.png

My suggestion to you, choose @ura-soul with your backup voice, he has built #steemocean.com in addition he is a good person and also a believer. He is also a British citizen.

@ivoted is not a witness, it's a bot who will reward people who vote for witnesses.

thanks, I have it, I made a mistake.

Don't worry, changes to the steemit inc page are coming, we've finally pushed it hard enough and brought some relevant data to prove the need. The details of the change are being hammered out now on github.

he knows that as he's read @shadowpub's post about it

My point was at the time of the post, it was speculative, we actually got the change done, but the implementation was being worked out, that has happened now too and the changes were merged for the next release.

As a brand new Witness I would like to say thank you so much for seeking me out and taking the time to vote for me - that's exactly what I want to promote more - active users of Steemit taking a real interest in Witnesses and voting with all 30 slot's - every vote makes a difference to every Witness.

I do hope they rethink the Witness voting page, it does pretty much ensure the top 50 stay the top 50 and so many people outside of it are working just as hard to sustain and promote the platform.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

If they're not already on your list I would strongly recommend the new community focused witnesses who have similar values to yourself @steevc:

@steemcommunity and
@danielsaori

I've voted for the first one and have used up all my votes for now. I shall be checking if any become inactive and then I'll look again.

Seeing only 50 names is very sneaky and misleading. People who are new to the platform get an idea that there are only that many witnesses lol. The whole point of having this kind of platform is to have everything nice and transparent. Transparency speaks volumes and diminishes any suspicion of foul play. I am looking forward to changes that are coming. Thanks for writing this and reminding people, with each post like this at least one person figures things out because a reminder to some is a revelation to others.

This has to be a good thing for the rest us down in the depths.

When noisy hit 50, his votes started appearing much more frequently. Although it's likely to be smaller accounts who perhaps haven't done their research.

Thanks for mentioning the #ivoted initiative, really appreciated.

The more diversity in the witness ranks the better, there is a quite a narrow talent pool at the top at the moment.

I know @pfunk and @anyx from Steemcleaners. Honourable people. But often I do not know what to do with all those witness votes. I voted for Patrice as we need people to despam the place, and I will look at demotruk as I can see that he actually posts.

Thanks for explaining what the witness is all about, since you have 2 spare vote,I suggest @surpassinggoggle,he helps those that are new to steemit,he help the minnows to grow.He also helped me too when I joined steemit community.

STEEMGIGS is the witness :)

They have my vote already :)

posts are very useful for me bang.
but I do not understand, because I'm still a beginner.

Just keep reading. Use translation tools if you need them

bonjour, désolé je ne parle que Français, mais un grand merci pour ce post, je cherchai justement ou on pouvait trouvé la liste des witness

merci @evildido, mais tu es dans la liste, cool tu vas pouvoir m'expliquer, c'est quoi missed block et block age, et est ce que vous avez un compte ou on pourrait faire des suggestions d'amélioration? genre un peu chantier lean? A plus merci

Le missed block est le nombre de bloc raté depuis la création du witness. Il est cumulatif et lié à une erreur du witness ou d'une indisponibilité de la machine.
Dans mon cas, c'était en décembre dernier suite à un mauvais choix dans la machine. C'est corrigé depuis et je surveille le serveur tous les jours.

Le block age correspond à la date du dernier bloc produit. Plus un witness est bas dans le classement et il lui faudra du temps pour avoir le droit de produire un bloc. C'est donc tout à fait normal de part mon classement.

Je n'ai pas compris ta question.

et est ce que vous avez un compte ou on pourrait faire des suggestions d'amélioration? genre un peu chantier lean?

est ce que vous avez un compte pour les witness, ou on pourrait faire remonter les problèmes qu'on rencontre, et les idées d'amélioration, merci pour ta réponse en tout cas

Un coup pour les witness ? Tu peux dire un salon pour parler aux witness ?
il y bien https://steem.chat (salon witness et witness-social).
Mais c'est en anglais.

Ca dépend vraiment ce que tu veux dire.

oui c'est ça un salon, merci beaucoup, j'ai plus qu'à apprendre l'anglais, lol

Got curious with ivoted so let me check ;)

Thanks for the explanation, now I will encourage you to support witnesses in the community!

I already have :)