You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: RE: Sexual Clickbait

in #steemit8 years ago

I liked this discussion so much. I am also uncomfortable with women exploiting themselves sexually because I see every human being as being so bestowed with creative energy. And plus, also, I was exploited in my youth, so I am highly sensitive to such exploitation. I didn't suffer too much, but I suffered a lot psychologically from the exploitation. After that time, I dressed in mens clothes, refused to wear makeup or dresses....I never wanted any male attention. I'm still like this actually, to a degree. I've never worn any dress that shows cleavage either. It might be my personality or a reaction to being exploited.
anyway, that's probably why i am uncomfortable with a spread-eagle crotch shot as the click bait title. But i liked the issues that were raised, by both, a male and a female. Without @veralynn's voice, though, I would not have felt as good. Thanks to @veralynn who made it worthwhile.

Sort:  

@stellabelle, I'd love it if you could explain more (not that you owe that to anyone). Why do you perceive eploiting one's looks or sex appeal to be any different than exploiting one's "creativity"? Can't one be creative/unique in their sex appeal as much as in their music, their art, their...whatever? Why do you perceive the former as somehow lower? Is it possible that your views on this are clouded by your own personal tragedy? By that I mean that perhaps your aversion is simply visceral/emotional rather than logical or principled? I don't mean that as an insult in any way. I too have aversions to things based on my own traumatic history that don't make logical sense, but they are very real.

And finally, wouldn't you agree that "being exploited" is very different from exploiting one's own gifts or talents? All to often people conflate the two, but they are very different. One disempowers, the other empowers.

Intelligence is also mostly given by nature, so it is not virtue

it is very similar to beauty in that sense.

Thank you for sharing that, @stellabelle -- that is something that vexes me, as well.

I look forward to posting more in the future on women's activism and engaging in a constructive discussion about it. Hopefully we can get more users involved and continue covering important topics frequently.

Also, if you would ever like to collab on a feminism piece, you know where to find me! :)