Hello Steemit, Old Friend

in #steemit7 years ago

It's been two-three months I believe since I've last posted or been active on Steem. Not sure why but towards my last couple of days within this community I was just burnt out from work and lost motivation to spend time creating thoughtful posts.

I am now in Asia as I write this post. Specifically the great country of Taiwan. I've spent the last three weeks here starting in Hong Kong and ending up back in Taiwan. I've experienced so much, met so many different people, learned about my family, and created so many great new relationships that I can look back to when I get older.

The country of Taiwan is beautiful. The food is delicious. The nature is well and alive. The people are respectful. The women are beautiful. The most amazing part of Taiwan though is how genuine the people here are. Raised in America, my mandarin is unfortunately pretty broken. However this wasn't a problem as people all over the streets are so willing to help you with anything. If you look confused, there will be locals walking up to you asking if you need help with where you go. The locals here try so hard to make sure that you have a great time and don't get lost. It's wonderful.

Meeting my family here in Taiwan was also an amazing gift. Being so far from Taiwan, all the way across the globe, I never really heard of my relatives back home in California. My parents never really talked about family because even they haven't seen them for a long time. However, coming to Taiwan I was able to meet for the first time aunts, uncles, cousins, second cousins, grand uncles, grand aunts, and my grandma. I was amazed at how welcoming they were with me. Meeting all of them for the first time, they were so open when telling me stories of my parents and their childhood. They filled me up with food, beer, and amazing stories to say the least. And for that I've gained a whole new respect for family.

All in all, I believe great experiences are meant to be shared with others. The reason why I loved Steemit when I started was to be able to read about experiences from the rest of the world. Coming back to Steemit I hope to do the same. To share what I learned about my family, culture, and identity.

IMG_1606.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @stephcurry! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!