My thoughts on Steemit so far and plans for the future!

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello everyone,

Hope you're all having a great Tuesday. I myself am a little sad to see these dark days with no sun all the time. When will the summer finally start for real? 😎


I wanted to write a little about my thoughts on Steemit so far and also what I'm hoping for the future.

The days have gone by pretty fast recently and it wasn't long ago that I was writing my "100 follower post" . I still remember how happy I was about getting there since it was sort of a milestone for me at the time. Now I've already passed 200 and it feels awesome. I've enjoyed the time here a lot and it's so great to see people commenting and being so cool!


When I was young I loved to write. We had a typewriter in our house and I loved to sit there and write stories about anything. Mostly about superheroes and villains. I watched a little anime already then so some of the stories could also be a little manga-like. I would almost always get tired of the story after a while and start over but sometimes they could get pretty long and it really sucks that I don't have these anymore. Would have been really fun to read. But I always threw away everything I wrote since I was never happy with the outcome.

I was about 8-9 years old at the time and I was in elementary school. I did really good in all the writing tests there too. Those I actually have left. It was called "Diktamen" and the way it works is, the teacher reads some text that we got to practice on before hand and we write it down on our papers. I guess this is a pretty normal exercise anywhere. I was one of those kids that never read for any tests or did it in the morning just before class. But my grades were still mostly 10's in those tests. We had a 4-10 grade system. I can provide proof if someone doesn't believe me but chose not to post it because it's in Swedish. It felt pretty good to be the only foreign kid in class and still get the better grades in writing their mothertongue.

So I did like to write already when I was little but after elementary school I had a really shitty time in middle school and that's pretty much where my writing stopped for the time being.


Twelve years later and now Steemit has fired off my interest for writing once again. I have enjoyed writing every post so much and also receiving comments and talking to people has been great.

So I plan to continue writing and I hope to also improve at the same time. English is my favorite language and I am constantly trying to improve both my writing and speaking. One day I will visit USA since this is one my childhood dreams. And it will be awesome. But more on that when the time comes!

I feel that I have gotten back a forgotten interest for writing from posting here on Steemit and I plan to pursue it! Sadly I was unable to find a job for this summer but I am looking at it positively since now I can be fully dedicated to Steemin'


Another thing that I've received from here is that I have been able to learn A LOT about crypto-currencies and follow news about them. I also had the chance to try diversifying into other cryptocurrencies which also was completely new to me. I have learned a lot about trading and I think that I will also make a update post on that in the near future!

Game reviews are also coming up but I haven't been using my PC these last weeks at all since I've been on my laptop instead on Steemit. I am now trying to sell my laptop which is a ASUS ROG G75VW gaming laptop because of a couple of reasons. First of all it weighs 4.2 kgs so having it on your lap for a long time is horrible. I am writing this post on it right know and I can't feel my legs any longer lol. And then of course the second reason is that I have a gaming PC so I have no use for a gaming laptop. What I need is a light one that keeps cool and is just simple. So hopefully I can soon replace this and then I can write more comfortably.

The laptop looks like this:

So as you can see it's pretty big and chunky although it does very well for gaming.


So that is pretty much what I wanted to say about my thoughts so far and also a little about my plans for the future.

Thanks for reading and have an awesome rest of the day!

Sources: 1, 2, 3

DQmf1KgawnyxdswfvLC224LyL5Vj4uTHYYTE7LNUZsoLarj_1680x8400.png

Peace out, Strawhat

Sort:  

This post received a 2.0% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @acidyo! For more information, click here!

It's a very good program. I wish you the best. You are truly a good person.

Thank you :) same to you!

Do you have any of your old stories in store? You could translate them and post them here ;)

Good idea! I'm definitely gonna look for them. But I'm pretty sure they've disappeared through the years :/

Ah, sad :( Though it's understandable.

I'm trying to save some things what my son is creating currently and I hope, that if not in 10 years but maybe in 20-30 years we all will be happy we saved them.

Things like those can never be replicated.. sometimes it's just a good thing, though :D

Yeah, save everything you can. When the time comes, those things will be like a time machine.
Haha well yeah maybe for some things :D

nice post...all the best for your future :)

Been in crypto for over 6 months now, wish I would've made a steemit account earlier, but I found out just in time! I think the platform holds great potential as its one of few crypto projects that as fully functional social media platform built on the blockchain with good tech behind it, blocktimes are only 3 sec!! Good luck!

Remember that you are still very early here.
Things may be a little tougher now then a year before.
But there are still only around 2000 accounts with a valuation of $14, or higher.

Thanks for the info! Did not know the number was that small.

Yeah, I've been in for about the same time. Have had an account since this time last year though so the only thing I'm sad over is that I didn't start posting earlier and being active. Yeap, Graphene FTW. Thanks man, you too! :)

I am a newbie on steemit, but veteran in cryptos and business. I am really sorry I haven't joined this community earlier (didn't know about it). But now I am here and plan to engage as much as possible. Your stories inspired me. Hope that one day I will inspire someone here.

Please consider reading, commenting and upvoting my posts. That means a lot to me.

I followed you and I am looking forward to seeing some content from you :) thanks for reading!

Sounds like some nice plans. I used to love writing stories when I was younger too, especially horror stories. But just like you I would get bored before finishing them and then start on the next one. I wonder if I still have any laying around... Glad you got your interest for writing back, I like your style of writing :)

Thanks :) if you do then you should definitely post them here! :D I wish i would find like a binder full of old stories I've written someday :D that would be so cool. Thank you, means a lot!

I'll look for them when I go visiting my parents next time :)

Looking forward to what you will accomplish in the future. This is such an awesome platform. I think we can both agree that we've jumped in at the perfect time!

Cheers!

Thanks man :) It really is! I absolutely agree

Looking forward for ur post.

Steemit has worked wonders to awaken creativity in many users and in many different ways. I like how newcomers lately have been calling it the "reviving of blogging" because blogs in general have not seen great performances spread all over the web and on different sites where users lost a huge cut to the providers just by making it possible for them to publish them somewhere with the hopes of them getting some visibility. Plus they all had to rely on adrevenue which itself has seen a huge downtrend in effectivity and rewards.

Its exciting times for the attention economy and I'm glad Steem is one of the leading platforms in it right now and how the advantages of blockchain are making it so easy for it all to work out this well.

I completely agree. I now I've seen a lot of friends/people I've known trying to make it blogging on sites and "blog-providers" like those. I wish I could've told them about Steem then :D

It is really exciting and it's just getting more so the whole time :D Thanks for the read :)

Yeah - even those doing it for a long time see almost no traffic, feels like a waste of time really, not to mention that if those sites go down after a few years all your content is lost - that can't happen on a blockchain, though! ;)

It is summer and 106 degrees outside for me. I can lend you some sun lol . Anyways I was thinking the same. I failed writing growing up but now I have a passion for putting my thoughts and ideas out there. I really feel musicians and artists will benefit greatly from a system like this that pays!

:DD thanks man I appreciate it. Some of that heat would be nice.

Yep, it will greatly benefit artists and it already does :) it's awesome

Love your attitude and positivity! Keep on being awesome and have a great day!

Have added you to my follows. Looking forward to reading what you come up with....

Thank you :)

Been using crypto for over 9 months now, I find this platform so easy for anyone new to crypto to get acquainted very fast. Many great post like yours and others are really advancing my knowledge..thanks and have a beautiful day@strawhat!

I agree, I also learned a lot from only reading posts about cryptos. There are many great posts here that can advance your knowledge in cryptocurrencies fast! Thanks for reading and you too :)

Been on Steemit for two weeks now yesterday and I just broke the 35 follower mark. @strawhat

Any type of progress makes me giddy really. Steemit is pretty interesting

That's awesome :) great job!

It is and it will become even more so as time passes :)

Good article, thanks for sharing. Upvoted

Thanks for reading :)

Wishing you the best with getting back into writing and hope Steemit works out really great for you :)

Thanks! I'm looking forward to see where it takes me :) the same to you!

Thanks a mil hey :)
Just write for fun, not to make money, that's my saying :)

I love to read more of your stories, steemit is a great place to achieve greatness with you steemians.

Thanks man :) remember to follow and I will keep posting! It's a great place with loads of great people :)

I love the way how you describe it. Steemit has also ignited my writing skills as I start my online earning career mainly through writing.
Just followed you to keep getting your updates in my feeds.

That's great to hear :) thanks a lot!

Steemit is a very useful tool to learn English, or any other language frankly.
Learning a language and even earn some spare change, what a great platform.

Nice post man....so true

Thank you :)

Welcome dude ..keep posting ...will luv to follow u

Wish you the best, even if i dont know you.

Same to you :)

@strawhat Congrats on receiving rewards for your efforts! 😃
All my rewards are converted to steem power, seeing that you've been with steemit for almost a year is awesome, as I'm entering my 11th day with steem. - thank you for being here!

Have you cashed out any of your steem?

Thank you so much :) That's great. Yeah it really is. I heard about it early on. Well good luck with everything! I think you will really enjoy it here.

And yes a small amount that I used to buy a chair (you can read about it in my earlier post). But I've also diversified into other cryptocurrencies that I have found interesting.

Diversified, AWESOME - ha-ha you are speculating with cryptocurrencies 😃
Wishing you success and more leisure for great authoring!

haha yeah that's what I'd call it :D thanks a lot :) the same to you!

Loved the article. Followed and look forward to seeing more of your content. :)

Thanks a lot :) I'm following you too so same :3

@strawhat . nevergiveup what you love . thank you for sharing your stories with us

Thank you for reading :) and the kind words

Steemit is a Gift that many don't understand yet, Just glad iI found out early.
Folowing you and Blessings to you!!

Thanks a lot :) I agree! same to you also

I joined only a few weeks ago even though I was aware of Steemit months ago. Having joined Steemit, I learnt so much more about cryptos than I have in the last 5 years. The community is so diverse and knowledgeable that it is just like going to University without the boring stuff.

Yeah well you're still early anyways :) you learn fast from this place :D

"it is just like going to University without the boring stuff." That's a really good way of putting it :D

Well, all the best with your future mate. Keep hustling :)

Cheers man! Will do :) same to you as well.

I just started steemit yesterday. seems like an awesome platform! Im still trying to put my finger on what it is I wanna use it for. My page was made to be dedicated to gaming but now I want to post more! anyjow this was a great read for me. Thank you for sharing.

Oh well I'm actually trying to figure that out for myself too. But don't get stuck on planning wondering what to post. I'd say just start writing and see where it takes you. And never start with the title :D you will get stuck there! That's at least how it is for me :D Thank you for reading and good luck :)

Nice post, Good luck with everything.

Great to see how a following can grow.

I am glad things are going well for you! Things seem to have slowed a bit on my end.

Thank you :) I followed you! Looking forward to see some of your content :)

I truly hope steemit will blossom in the future . IT is defintely one of the most amazing social platform on the net. Unlike reddit and FB . the community here is indeed much more friendly . Great blog my friend.

It is a very welcoming and friendly community :) Thanks buddy!

Great read @strawhat. That laptop is so Awesome!

Great piece. I also look forward to reading your stories! A little secret about me: I have only read one story book my entire life. How I passed school and book reports? I made up stories about books I scanned the covers of. I'm not too proud of it all but hey, I can say I like writing stories as well :D

hahah :D well that's one way of going at it! Thanks for taking the time to read :)

nice one