You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10 Ways to Fund a Steem Growth Project!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

That's true. In this graph "active" are those who made at least one post, comment or upvote.

Also interesting in that context the forecast from Steem 'data enthusiast' @paulag:

If the number of new accounts remains consistent for 2018, so at about 150K per month, within 7 months we will have 1m new users. With a retention rate of lets say 10%, within 12 months we would see a total active user base of 250K people.

From my point of view, instead of thinking about more growth ideas, we should rather work on strategies to keep people on the platform.

Sort:  

Hm, That's really interesting. I definitely didn't realize it was that low (or that new signups were that high). Really makes you wonder at the root cause of why people are leaving?

My short active time on Steemit hasn't really given me a large amount of information to use that would lead me to stop. Perhaps it's just a case of people seeing how well their first posts do ( a few cents ), and then quitting?

Inactive means they've never used the account for unknown reasons. They probably opened the site, but never started to vote, comment or post.

Here's another more detailed insight in that context you might be interested in:
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@miniature-tiger/user-numbers-and-user-retention-analysis-the-story-of-2017

Interesting, I'll go through it. thanks!

I'll have to agree with that! I believe steemit is not for anyone unlike Facebook. There are a lot who flock here, making groups letting people know that they got to earn money. But once they are in steemit already and learned that it takes a lot of hard work to earn here, unfortunately many leave. I think more than anything, whales need to fund educational materials for newbies. Language barrier, is one of the pitfalls. Correct use of grammar is next. We need to go back to what steemit is all about-blogging. So we need to help people learn how to post good contents. Likewise, I hope whales will randomly select minnows to upvote not only to incentivize, but to give moral support.

You touch an important point, even though I don't think education is a whales's task only. We're all in charge. Still only few are able to change interface designs :-)

I'd love to see something like a virtual training entrance hall where educational tutorials are provided BEFORE someone actually enters the platform. Have you read the welcome page when signing up to Steemit? https://steemit.com/welcome I wonder how many do this or just skip the side because it's endless static boring black and white text.

I'd love to see something more modern and interactive instead that matches with the 21st century. I believe that an improved onboarding process could prevent many problems, including abuse and also expectation management.

Like what you said it's boring so no, I didn't get to read. Fortunately, I like to do self study, so I made my way. Not that much though, but still in progress. And yes, I hope someone will come up with your idea. I was hoping that too. Maybe an assessment tool for newbie trying to give an overview of what steemit is all about. I guess, retention and quality of content is the main problem. And if we keep on inviting people just for the sake of reward pool, soon we will be swimming in around, nowhere to go. The people in Facebook, Instagram and Twitter, even Pinterest knows what they are there for. The question is, are all in steemit knows what we are here for?

Very insightful and I will be following you as a result.