You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT Bot Guide: Steemit Bots for Dummies

in #steemit6 years ago

I can mention one bot you should avoid, and its name is @cheetah.

If this guy upvoted your post, it wasn't a good thing because it means it spotted duplicate content

Why does this bot upvote rather than flag duplicate content?

Sort:  

Because sometimes the user is just transfering his old posts that were published elsewhere to steemit and the flag wouldn't be appropriate in those cases.

Cheetah is more like an alert for readers to see that it is duplicate and they can decide whether its spam or not.

Cheetah's warning says "similar content" at least part of the time, and I have tested it's algos... by posting my older content from other sites. The AI must be pretty advanced because I have never gotten the warning. Cheetah is a GOOD Bot, but has a darker side for abusers... Cheetah can BAN, but not as part of it's automated skillZ... This was done at the behest of the lovely @Patrice <3

So if I copy-paste my old blog posts here, Cheetah will not flag?

I would use the quotes feature in Markdown, I would add commentary as well, like updates. Really, most any time Cheetah gets involved it's because it's pretty blatant!