You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Still Confused by Steem, Steem Dollars, and Steem Power? The Power Plant Analogy

in #steemit7 years ago

@gregory-f: I liked your reply and tried to up-vote you. I have a huge amount of Steem Power and when I upvote people it is usually worth a couple of dollars to them. However, your balance didn't move. Is the reason:

  1. Because I can't reward posts older than 5 days? or,
  2. I already used my voting power for today?
Sort:  

Number 1 is mostly correct. You cannot give a reward to a post or comment that is over 7 days old. Actually the cut off for a reward is 12 hours before the 7 day mark.

Number 2 is a little correct, in that you have a limited amount of rewards available and every full power upvote reduces your voting power by 2%. You also recharge voting power by 2% every 2.4 hours. So if you only give out 10 full power upvotes every day you will stay close to full power.

You can see your voting power level here: https://steemd.com/@swissclive