Give me a Star (Steemit development)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This is just a very basic (in my non-developer opinion) request.

There is a rapidly increasing amount of posts filling feeds and for me at least, I am spread pretty thin with time and with any I do find spare, I am writing content.

I see articles flow through that catch my eye and would like to have a read of but do not have a chance at that instant. This means that later, I have to search through a thousand posts to find it again which is laborious and unlikely. It would be great if there was a star that I could bookmark it in a list for later.

I think this would help get more eyes on work and more engagement overall. It may also mean that articles are more likely to be read several days after posting, giving an increased exposure length.

At the moment, it seems that people are much more likely to only read the articles as they appear in the feed, they won't go very deep at each logon. Perhaps, if there was a star 'read later' function, people could more often touch Steemit base quickly and skim and bookmark for later.

I know for the people with young children, this would be handy as there are very few times other than late at night when there is the space to get into some decent reading.

For me anyway, I think this would be quite valuable.

Perhaps, the starred content could be sent to a reader app where they are given in a swipeable layered list with some basic options to comment, up, resteem or delete from list.

Anyone else interested?

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

EDIT: I have tried using the 'flag for later' button but people don't seem to appreciate it :P

Sort:  

So true and useful. I've been through the same thing!

Yeah, I would love something like this. I don't have time to be on here all the time, so this would be nice.

Good idea!

yes definitely. Id like to use it for potential following victims later.

Yes! Steemit is obviously growing. More feed, more feedback, more categories, time for more organization! Maybe even something like topics in personal home pages. Some followers might just like someone's poetry but want to avoid any political resteems or whatever...some new and improved user friendly organizing opt ions would be fantastic. And good for steem. Thanks for bringing it up!

This was requested 9 or 10 months ago and still hasn't happened.

You can bookmark them but then you have to keep cleaning out your bookmarks.

Yeah, I have tried that but it is again laborious (Wow, I am lazy these days) and makes a mess. This is why I wouldn't mind the swipe app for it as I think it would be much neater and user-friendly and I could star from pc, tablet, phone or whatever and have it collated automatically. Perhaps even by genre.

Btw. Your photos are amazing. They carry an essence of your personal feeling at the time you took the photo. You can't teach that. You're just plain old talented

Thank you, I try with every picture to capture the moment. Sometimes, the technical quality can suffer to steal a mood instead. Your support is appreciated as always.

If you are browsing on your computer you can bookmark with your browser, come to this of it you can do that with your cell phone as well, I simply created a bookmark folder for myself called steem read later. Then I drop ones in there I particularly like.

Yes, this is possible but not very practical or user friendly considering what else is possible these days. I think the easier something is, the more that will engage with it.

Alternatively busy has solved this situation if I recall correctly with bookmarking on the platform. https://busy.org/

Brilliant idea! We definitely need this. ReSteemed and upvoted