You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is blogging on Steemit profitable? How much should you earn to be "better" than average?

in #steemit6 years ago

The only problem with this viewpoint is that the inequality, albeit slowly, is changing.

The top people are become less powerful. Steem power is being spread around. Each time I do a report, twice a month, the power of the Whales decreases.

https://steemit.com/steem/@taskmaster4450/steem-whales-are-losing-their-power-the-system-is-not-broken-report-through-3-15-2018

People continually attack the system without realizing the facts. If you want you can look at @arcange's reports from 6 or 9 months ago...they tell the entire story.

Sort:  

@taskmaster4450 - With all due respect, I do appreciate your response, although it appears to be an accusation that one of us in this chain is attacking the system without realizing facts. While those statistics are promising for what they are, may I suggest a slightly different focus off of such charts, reports, and numbers about power distribution to refocus on the crux of my initial point?

Many people with substantial Steem Power, in my opinion, use if for personal gain or passive auto-votes on buddies more often than generously using voting downstream to help the community feel appreciated and grow. No shock there for a veteran like you. You've heard it all.

However, for example, you engaged us here and added value to the discussion and community. I must assume that our comments weren't completely worthless if you felt inclined to reply. I feel that @swissclive, @f3nix, and myself also did the same good in producing thought-inducing content/discussion, but we were not rewarded by you. Was there any harm or downside in sending some encouragement or reward for sharing passionate feelings?

That's the general gap in encouraging/sharing/spirit that disappoints me most. It's not about power being spread or charts. It's how people use their power.

Many evangelists for the platform with loads of SP act more like politicians in my eyes. They talk the talk and get their earnings, but their actions in the form of voting, delegation, replying, following, resteeming, etc., show the truth. I don't run analysis, but everyone's activity is traceable, and I've done enough digging to see many leaders for their true colors. Let's hope that changes slowly over time as well.

While I appreciate being directed to reports and analysis by others, that doesn't take away from the behavior I've seen throughout almost daily use of the platform since August. There is plenty of valid sentiment from my observation, while charts and facts can address some elements.

Forgive me if I misread your comment as a backhanded way to tell us we're simply making false attacks without doing our homework.