You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beginner Guide To Not Getting Hacked On Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

There are still plenty other sites that use Steem, that's one of the beauties with this network.

Just make sure you check adresses, try to only use the posting key, never sign in on sites that you know little about and never give it to anyone that messages you asking for it.

(some sample sites: Busy.org, DSound.audio, DTube.video, eSteem app for Android/Iphone, beta.ChainBB.com)

Sort:  

Agreed, you can sign into other sites. I was hesitant in the beginning to do it though. Once a user understands which keys are which and when to use them, they will feel better about using their posting key to log into other sites.

viewly is also one to note, although well so far the apps apart from dsound are quite crappy, the media apps I mean..

busy, esteem and chainbb are great in their respective spheres :)

I wish more of the steem tools got developed :|

D.tube is still fairly young and experimental.

Just be aware of the "Viuly" copycat that seemingly used fake information on their site https://steemit.com/scam/@isacoin/exposing-scam-ico-viewly-vs-viuly-which-is-the-real-deal-viewly

There are also the upcoming StreamSpace and Flixxo ICOs outside of the Steemisphere, which might provide some competition.

the environment is competitive, very much so, shamefully most are looking to capitalise on a new market and providing nothing but good marketing and flashy java sites... I'm still hoping good projects come out on top but with how people seem to reach only the surface I kind of doubt anyone will look deep enough into the potential ones.

In any case with so much projects around I'm wondering how anyone is keeping up :)

I can't imagine what it will be like in a year with eos and steem's flying around ..

I did see that post, even laughed a bit, I doubt I will be a good supporter of any project, I scutenise most so much they won't like me, for instance I like viewly, but hate branding .. and the corporate mentality of closing it off, dtube is here and there, good, but functionally speaking it's very lacking, they will need a lot of features to make a working competitor to YT, I might need to find a gnu media encoder or something :D