Sort:  

Yes, I watch the bid-bots and they are a very bad deal about 90% of the time I look. Every once I a while it pays off but not by much.

It really makes it hard when the "feed" isn't even close to live on the bot tracker site. It should be running 3 seconds behind as that is how long it takes at most to post a transaction to the blockchain, but they run about a minute and sometimes more in delay. To be fair maybe another 3 seconds for a total of 6 seconds to allow for feed updates. This delay is purely in place to make people overbid. Sure that bot tracker organizers know how to fix this, yet decide not to.

And there used to be about 50 other small bots on that tracker. I do not care to roll the dice for such large bets, and now there is no way to easily judge the possible payouts for the littler ones. I spent about $1.50 on all the little ones I could find two different times recently and lost badly both times. I only use @qustodian now - once a day if I remember.

On top of that - many of the people I used to be able to comment with for fairly good upvotes have now gone inactive or delegated most of their sp to bidbots. I'm highly discouraged these days, but still trying.

Yes the rewards for commenting has dropped off drastically. Think a few people got dollar signs in their eyes when the price jumped and thought they were about to become millionaires. Now that the price has come back down they are trying to milk every penny out of the system trying to achieve that income which is no longer achievable.

What they don't get is that by discouraging the smaller members less of them will make an investment into steem. If we have a 1000 new members buying steem each day the price will rise, but instead they come on and get discouraged before decided to be committed to the system. No rewards means no investment. Actually I think this is going to need to be a blog post...wonder how many whales it will piss off...hmm.

lol - I look forward to reading that one. This is a very frustrating time. I'm writing a big minnow tips post right now in hopes of helping.

I'm about to dig into this post for a few weeks. These are supposed to be the bigger good guys who support others widely. I saw it months ago and should have looked then.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@boddhisattva/top-200-effective-steemit-curators-for-the-last-week-2018-03-19-2018-03-25