You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Background and Vision for Steem

in #steemit5 years ago

Thanks for all this info. This is great.

@Gerbino could you please answer to me the following questions? I will really appreciate it.

Right now I am planning to lunch a token over Steem-Engine. After reading all your points I can see SMT's have potential so basically in your opinion and based on your knowledge: would you recommend to wait until SMT's are lunched or should I start the token using SE and them move to SMT's?

Also, what are the estimations in costs for an ICO performed under SMT's system? So far in Steem-Engine, making a token which can actually get a real use it is around $600 minimum. So it would be nice also to now if all the ICO's in steemit will have a cost in STEEM? Another thing that comes into my mind is to know if the SMT's tokens will be capable of act as an autonomous blockchain. That last question and pardon my ignorance in those matters, is because if the SMT's tokens will be capable of being listed in exchanges as well? Maybe all this development will make STEEM Blockchain as Ethereum where right now we have trading pairs as ETH/USD, ETH/many tokens created under Ethereum. So I imagine something like trading pairs as STEEM/USD(in which case they are being traded as we all know) and also STEEM/any SMT token.

Thanks in advance for your hard work and for your time.

Sort:  

I think that depends on what your intention is. I would wait/use SMTs if I wanted to list my tokens on popular exchanges directly; especially if the exchanges I'm considering already lists STEEM. The reason is that if an exchange lists STEEM already, then all the infrastructure is in place to support an SMT. I don't deal with exchanges directly, but I imagine that one of the major hurdles an exchange must do is setup the infrastructure to support a new blockchain. If your token has volume, and the exchange already has infrastructure setup to support STEEM, it's a no brainer to add an SMT pairing.

ICOs are currently $1 to create but are not finalized and are subject to change.

It is very possible to see STEEM act as a pairing between SMTs, there are talks about a decentralized exchange directly on the chain. But first things first, right?

Really great info here. Thanks for all your work.

Has burning a certain amount of Steem been considered as part of the ICO cost. If not, please suggest it. I personally would like to see more Steem uses/sinks.