You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hacking continues @samstonehill level 70 ACCOUNT was fooled, Don't be next

in #steemit7 years ago

Thanks for sharing this @zeartul. So far I will be in touch with the godaddy team support (as I'm member I may find something). I have checked this domain and it is been registered using godaddy. The info you may find, using a whois lookup will be this one:


Created On: 2017-10-09 Expiration Date: 2018-10-09 Last Updated On: 2017-10-09 Registrar: GoDaddy.com URL: http://www.godaddy.com

Registrant:
Name: Ned Scott
City: New York
State: Ciudad de Mexico
Country: Mexico


So the guy is very funny by putting @ned's name as a registrant. Well as soon as I can get in touch with them I will ask them how can we know this guy real name and address. He may have a linked credit card when he bought the domain. As soon as i get more info I will let you all know. IMHO this kind of people are very bad. I know how hard it is for many of us to get some reputation and gain our rewards by posting. This is why I'm here to help.
Sort:  

Godaddy will and cannot provide you with this information without a court order.
You used to be able to determine the owner (and registration address) of a domain name, but that was removed because of people getting threatened, harassed and attacked.

All we can do is stay vigilant.

Thanks for answer @rmz. Even that they won't give you any info, they allow you to report any suspicious activity within a website registered under their services. This is what I did some minutes ago.
So let's see what happen now.
In other news, feel free to check this out. A Chrome extension ethaddresslookup I have it installed and just now, I've realised, it works warning you about phishing websites:



source

So I guess it may be helpful in our "fight against Steemit's Crime organisations"



source