Om nom nom nom steemit cake nom nom nom

in #steemit8 years ago

What do you do when you are bored on a summer day and you are now kind of obsessed with #steemit?  You attempt to bake a #steemit cake while teaching  your kids about blockchain. 

I've been wanting to make a "rainbow" cake for a long time now.  You know, one of those layer cakes where each layer is a different color of the rainbow.  Well I'm a bit too lazy to make that many layers, so I decided I would attempt a three layer cake with the colors of the steemit logo.  Too bad I greatly underestimated how much blue food coloring I'd need to achieve the actual colors of the logo, but I came pretty close right?! lol My husband disagrees, but it was still a fun project with my kids and now I get to share the cake with friends and tell them about steemit (because we aren't supposed to eat a whole cake by ourselves)

I started with two cake mixes.  You can use yellow or white cake mixes.  I just had the white mixes on hand. 

After following the directions on the back, I divided the batter into three bowls and then started adding the food coloring.  

Make sure you flour the pans before adding the batter or your cakes might not come out.  This is more important if you are trying to make a layer cake. 

Break for licking batter off all spoons and beaters.

After stacking, my daughters went to work on the frosting.  My helping hands were a little impatient to eat the final product so we didn't really get past the crumb coat of frosting.  It doesn't look as pretty as I would have liked, but that's what happens when you #bake with kids! Oh and it's totally leaning too! 

And now I'm going to take the leftovers to friends.  I thought it would be a fun way to introduce my friends to the new world of steemit!

#food #baking #parenting #kids

Sort:  

Cool layering and a nice effect! The Steemit logo on top would have been the icing on the cake!

Oh I know, but I ran out of frosting and energy by the end :)

It looks like it was a hit! Thanks for sharing!