You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @just2random is Leaving Steemit and This is a Real Problem

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I just looked at his profile, and he started the same month I did. He's doing better than I am, but I understand the struggle. The people who got here a year ago enjoyed times when the Steem price was low... like $0.10 low. That means if you got $1 in Steem rewards, you received 10 SP. It's pretty darn easy to grow your account when you're getting rewards like that. Now if you get $1 in Steem rewards, you you .333 SP... and that's off of a $$2.50 post. Even $2.50 is hard to get for a newbie.
I've said it before, I'll say it again... having the price of Steem go up will hurt the economy in the long-run because people will stop creating accounts (or they'll drop accounts) because it's too hard to level up. If all the money higher in the chain is getting spent to boost those higher in the chain, there's nothing trickling down to the base, the foundation, aka the newbies. Newbies leave, and then it's just 100 people who vote for each other. There's almost 0 value in that.