Sort:  

Hello Otto!
I have been trying out other social networks for quite some time now. Many people bleat about how terrible Facecrook is, yet, are unwilling to do anything about it. I think Steemit will suite you very well. I can't say you will bring all of your old audience over with you, because as you have found out for yourself, there is a bit to wrap your head around. I think we have to wait for the critical mass of the network effect before we see swarms of our friends joining us here. There wasn't much I could tell Peter about it until I finally started to figure it out. Then it was also the right time, because some of Peter's other friends were talking cryptocurrencies with him, so the pieces fell into place.

Hi Leo,
you are right - everyone bitches about Facebook. I will still use it to stay in touch with people. As for posting: I will be comfortable here. I like the way you can post (images, links, HTML) , and I just share my posts on other social networks, primarily Facebook and Google+, some on Pinterest - I never did get the hang of Instagram and now that I have a Android phone, I still find it a pain in the ass to use.

Yes, Instagram is a pain, but Snapchat is worse! I gave up on the later. However, Instagram is THE place to be seen for your artwork. It is a massive uphill battle on that network, but I'm finally getting some traction. Twitter after all of these years is starting to go somewhere. My work is even doing the rounds on Tumblr. That is also another network for art.

What I find interesting about Steemit, is that, yes of course talk of cryptocurrencies dominate here, but if you look at the trending categories, art is always up the top. That says a great deal about the audience on this platform and believe, makes it worthwhile to invest the time here.

Yes, I too have reshared my articles from here to other platforms also. Steemit has breathed new life into blogging again.

definitely true. I am on Tumblr also, but don't use it all that much. On Twitter I have 2 accounts: one for myself, and one for Visionary Art. Logged in to VA I share mostly blogs and content from other artists, whereas my FB posts (and stuff I chose to share from Steemit) are auto-posted on my personal Twitter (so I don't need to log in there - you can only log into one account) . This is why I like Steemit: for example I can just lift the HTML of some interesting blogs I had written and just need to delete a few codes not allowed here, like 'span style'. Also, drag and drop images is excellent! Apparently that was not always so.
I am new to using an Android phone, so my gallery from which I could share stuff is almost empty. I just can't be bothered with searching and downloading my work to my phone just so I can share it on Instagram.

Sites such as Steemit, in the long run, are going to leave FB and the like in the dust bin of history. When people wake up to the fact that you can earn $ for your time on social media, instead of paying $ to have your content seen, it is a no-brainer.