Don't be an Ass...

in #steemit7 years ago

Upvoting your own comment WITHOUT upvoting the root post is an asinine behavior!


ass.jpg

You just read a great article and you think...

Hey, awesome! This is amazing information that people will like, I found great value in it, and I think people will read it. So, you comment on the post with something that adds value to it, or refers to a similar post by yourself then click the upvote button on your comment. This is ok if you ALSO give the root post your 100% upvote.

If you JUST upvote your own comment you're an ass!

Seriously it's being an ass! Just like the one pictured above ... Not even like the one pictured above ... You're a tired old ass, not a fine ass like the one in the picture.

When you upvote your own comment without supporting the person who worked hard to create the original content it's like STEALING! You're taking money out of the pool and either not giving back or barely giving back!

Am I overreacting?


What do you think?

Leave a comment to let me know!
comment.png

Sort:  

@timeshiftarts

Oh I am reading it, sometimes I can censor it!!

Welcome to Whalepower Tag Usage.
Please Read the Guidelines first , if you haven't please do so.

This Post have been Manually Curated / Upvoted.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag ,
Please share Our #whalepower Tag with the community . Upvote , Follow, Reblogged Us , when ever you can.
This message comes-up when #whalepower Tag in use.
#whalepower is community project

Curated By @paul-gillbanks for #whalepower Tag
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog – Please Click to Read

Whenever I use questionable words, I try to be sure to use a graphic ... ergo the picture of a donkey (ass) in the same way Dreamworks did with Shrek.

Thank you for the whalepower refresher :)

You have received whale-power.

Thank you very much! The power is a great help in the recent slump.

A couple of points come to mind when reading this:

  1. If someone comes across a potential scam that they feel knowledgeable enough to warn people about, upvoting the scam post would be contrary to their values, but upvoting their warning to the top would be totally justified.
  2. The author of a post will get a 50% payout of all comments on the post, so even if a user didn't upvote the post they commented on, they still gave a 50% upvote with their comment vote.

To me, something is better than nothing, and I try not to look a gift horse in the mouth. A certain situation I may feel differently about is if they are upvoting literally spam to the top of the comments. But that only seems to be a problem among the smallest of accounts, and simply upvoting the relevant comments among the spam can remedy that situation.

Fair points. I didn't know about number 2, that's good information.

For the Scam warning, I totally agree with you.

I don't think you're overreacting. I must say when I see someone upvote his own comment without upvoting the post, the word asshole definitely comes to mind.

I thought so. It just seems skeevy

Nice one :D
I am strongly about to like this comment now... just because you dislike it. Does it make me an ass?
You tell me ;)

I don't mind the self upvote if it comes with supporting the post as well. Although I feel it's better to let the author of the post or one of the other readers upvote you first because your comment is valuable.

(I know that honey. I was simply messing with you) Still a nice post. I followed you ;)

I think for newbies, all the rules about up-voting, re-steeming, etc gets overwhelming. It takes time to figure out what to do. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

It does, but when I see people with a reputation of 45+ upvoting their own comment for $0.15 - $1 and not upvoting the post I'm like "Well you're a jerk"

I think calling it stealing is a bit much, but I honestly think this is where to draw the line. I think self-voting is pretty much fine, and I think there are a number of reasons you may not upvote a post you comment on; however, if you're not upvoting the post but turn around an upvote your own comment you are, in fact, an ass.

Yeah stealing may not be the right word ... and there are many times I comment without an upvote to the post.

The thing that gets me is there's a limited pool, so it seems like some kind of abuse to me when someone pays themselves instead of supporting the community.

I'm not totally against the self-upvote (there are strategic reasons for it) but more often than not I feel my upvote should go to authors that bring value to encourage community growth.

Totally agreed. The more I'm on here the more I think maybe upvotes should be restricted by the system, but if it's available everyone should probably take advantage of it equally. As long as you're not exclusively upvoting your own content.