You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm upset...

in #steemit7 years ago

In my opinion, flagging on personal opinion is bullying.

I think there are good reasons to flag a post;

  1. Copyright abuse (plagiarism, copypasta, re-posting videos or pictures without consent of the original author)
  2. Harmful posts (posts promoting child abuse, excessive violence, and hate)
  3. Tag abuse (intentionally mis-tagging posts for more "exposure")
  4. SPAM (frequent or repeated posts of no value)
    This one is a bit subjective. Value means entertainment, education, science, art, community, or literary works.
Sort:  

That's a good list! Agree with that. Except sometimes you may not know if someone does something intentionally (no. 3). But when you're certain, okay. Thank you @timeshiftarts!

Just to add to the "tag" thing. If someone is going to flag you for this, they would most likely remove their flag if you were, in fact, wrong and removed the tag. Or explain why you added the tag and they may agree and remove the flag.

I get that it is frustrating, but it's the only tool available right now to stop people who are abusing the system. Since we don't have a way to really search through steemit yet, the tags are all we have to find the content we want to read about. If we want to read about #bitcoin and someone posts a picture of their cat using the tag #bitcoin because it is a popular tag, that is surely going to annoy some people and they will flag it. It's not the best system but it's really all there is right now.

"In my opinion, flagging on personal opinion is bullying" - 100% agree, some people on other platforms love to follow my art, but then when I post links where they can buy it or God forbid - prices, they report me for SPAM. For a lot of people SPAM seems to have come to mean anything people don't agree with, or anyone trying to sell anything at all. If you want to enjoy my art for free online but not buy any, just don't click the links, right?

Personally I feel you should be allowed to monetize your blog in any way you like. I monetize some of my blogs with in context Amazon links and use my referral tags when talking about cryptocurrencies because I'm bringing related information to the table.

There is no good reason you shouldn't be able to sell your art when writing content about it.