ASK NOT WHAT STEEMIT CAN DO FOR YOU BUT WHAT YOU CAN DO FOR STEEMIT

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

The world is filled with people who are grappling and self seeking and the individual who unselfishly tries to meet the needs of his fellow man has a huge advantage. He has no competition.
Dale Carnegie.

thumbnails.jpeg

There is a common and general question that lurks in the heart of every newbie, minnow and even dolphins. The question is; ‘how can I increase my payouts’; ‘How can I earn more money from content creation’. I believe that everyone desires to earn more money from posts. I do have such desires. If you are like me then this post is for you. Keep reading.

The question; ‘how can I increase my post payout?’ is a good question but there is a better way to frame it. The right question should be: ‘how can I serve the needs of my fellow Steemians ’ or ‘ how can I provide more value ’ or ‘ how can I give more to other Steemians ’ or ‘ how can I contribute more to this community *’.

Look around you, look at the people that are earning high payouts; witnesses, whales,e.t.c. These guys work! They provide a lot of value to the steem blockchain. They make this space conducive for everyone else. One of the questions that has been on my mind is ‘how can I give back to the whales?’ Most of my content has been centered on helping newbies and I have been lucky to have a generous support from whales. The most sustainable way to increase your post payouts is to put yourself in a situation where you are the one giving or where you are the one adding some value to the Steem blockchain. There is no greater way to suck in Steemit than to have the entitlement mentality.

One of the things I learned from my book review last week is to always think in terms of the other person's want. Think of what other people want and look for ways to serve them.

He who can do this has the whole world with him but he who cannot, walks a lonely way.

So when you are thinking of contributing your post to the blockchain to bid for a portion of the reward pool, ask yourself these questions:

  • How does my content serve the whales?
  • How do does my content serve the dolphins?
  • How does my content serve the minnows?

If you cannot justify these question then your post is probably not going to get some good attention. Some people may decide to use Steemit a social media and just upload pictures or status updates, these questions doesn't really apply to them but if you are interested in hustling for the big bucks then put these questions to heart.

The following is just my own postulation of what I think the three classes of Steemians want. Feel free to share your opinion on this subject in the comment section.

What do the whales want?


Whales are Steemians that have accumulated a lot of Steem Power. They have tens to hundreds of thousands in Steem power and their upvotes can give you from a few dollars to hundreds of dollars.

They have the largest shares in Steemit and they exert a lot of influence because of the weight of their upvotes.

The whales have the largest stake in Steemit and they (more than anyone else) desire that Steemit should succeed. The whales want quality content. I believe that quality content will attract people to the Steem blockchain.

When more users join Steemit it can cause a buy pressure on Steem and when people start accumulating it, price of Steem will go up. A time is coming when Steem will be used for day to day transaction just the way you use your local currency but that's still in the future. Right now Steem is converted directly to fiat in exchanges. I know of @airhawk-project that serves as an escrow for converting Steem/SBD to Naira and it is a fantastic project. Getting Steem dollars away from exchanges and keeping it in circulation can cause scarcity that raises up the prize. I believe that when the price of Steem goes up the whales can share a sell a part of their steem and collect profits.

The whales want anything(projects, developments, applications, etc) that would lead to a faster adoption of Steemit.

This is just a postulation. I want you to add your own contribution to the comment section. What do you think the whales want.

So how can I give to the whales? Create quality content and Invite your friends to Steemit. Promote Steemit in your locality and write about it. Just a postulation.

What do the Dolphins Want?


The dolphins are people who have earned several thousands in Steemit Power. They can give you many cents to a few dollars with their upvotes.

The dolphins want esteem, influence and growth.

You will find them right at the middle of Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs.

I believe that most people come into Steemit with a certain amount of greed. Everybody has some greed but then as time goes on, they fall in love and discover the hidden treasures in Steemit. The power that fuels greed cannot compete with the power of cooperation and love for your fellow human or the power of a common cause and collaborative commons. This cooperation, love and collaborative commons is the environment that Steemit has created.

The dolphins produce quality content and try to hustle up the social ladder to become whales.

They work real hard, building trust, gaining reputation, esteem and steem.

The whales don’t really hustle for attention. They get all the attention and brownnosing(lol) they can get because of the attractive force of their Steem Power but the dolphins have to work hard to remain relevant. They have to remain consistent in producing value and leadership.

The dolphins want basically what the whales and minnows want but what may differ is the extent to which they need it.

What do the Newbies/Minnows Want?


Minnows are newbies with very little Steem Power and influence. They are still trying to understand how Steemit works.

The newbies/minnows need money/upvotes. They need Guidance, education and mentorship and they also need upvotes to build their Steem Power. Some of them just need tutorials on how to navigate the site. Some need assurance that this is a good platform and that they wouldn't waste their time and effort here. They need assurance that steemit is a force for good and that it will last. Some of them that are here solely for the money just need to be assured that they can cash out.

The minnows make up the majority of Steemians and their number is increasing daily. Some minnows are born with whalehearts, these ones do not remain minnows for long.

It is important to serve the newbies and relate with them and respect them because these are the future whales. You don't know whether the minnow you support today will be the one giving you a $10 upvote tomorrow. I don't ever forget when someone does good to me. I still remember @satchmo who gave me an upvote with minnowbooster. I didn't even know what minnowbooster was and when I discovered it, I returned the favour. I still appreciate that act of kindness till this day.

The producers, the value adders, the ones that have a heart to help people, the givers are the ones who are going to succeed in Steemit.

If you have read up to this point then congratulations. You qualify for an upvote when you leave a question, comment or contribution below.

Thank you for spending your precious time to read this post.

I hope it was value for your time.


Images: pixabay.com.


Sundayselfies is a fantastic way to show love and give to the people you care about in Steemit.

It's a weekly selfie challenge that spans the entire week. It opens on Sunday and closes on Saturday.

Click on the link below for more details.

https://steemit.com/photography/@tojukaka/sundayselfies-9-smiles

kaka-s.png

chapter three.png

Sort:  

Yes boss. You are on point with this one. Its not everytime we should expect to earn without first adding value. Content creation and value-based economics is the ideal thng

Thank you bro

It is important to serve the newbies and relate with them and respect them because these are the future whales. You don't know whether the minnow you support today will be the one giving you a $10 upvote tomorrow. I don't ever forget when someone does good to me. I still remember @satchmo who gave me an upvote with minnowbooster. I didn't even know what minnowbooster was and when I discovered it, I returned the favour. I still appreciate that act of kindness till this day.

I really love this part, gives me hope that one day i would get there .

Yes yes. Well meaningful analysis of the power ranks on steemit. Truth is some whales have not necessarily earned steempower but have only procured it. I feel that's what would make one not understand what it is to evolve from a minnow to a whale. The transition process could be one of value. Thanks for adding value to steemit in your own way @tojukaka.

@tojukaka thanks for well analysis, actually you are helping to educate people in this platform, if actually whales and dolphin can adopt this approach the minnow will have little or less problems. As one of the whales @tojukaka hope i will find favour in your eyes one day as one of your followers. lol
I have already leverage from this i do not know that @airhawk-project existed before now. thank for sharing. always @theheralds

Yeah @airhawk-project is fantastic
The admin @dreamchaser and @dorth are reputable people

It certainly was worth the time it took to read. I think you broke this down very well and you certainly are a leader in helping others along. Well done!!

Good way to flip it around that's for sure.

You are certainly a leader. Thanks bro

Wow...this is really motivating...boss i want to be like you when i grow up...thanks for sharing, i have a hope of getting there someday.
The most important thing is to put in your best to grow steemit

I thought your an adult.. Lol am joking... I wish I was like @tojukaka

Wow..so excellent I could read this over and over again... Thank you @tojukaka.
My advice is as a steemian/newbie is more important to follow people of like mind, people with similar interest. This would help you to have creative contribution and hence help the community.

Wow! This a good tutorial @tojukaka, am a newbie but ur post hv given answers to questions I have looking for an answer, through ur post I can now know my status in steemit. Truly steemit is a cabbage in cabbage out platform where once earning is determined on value u add to it based on the quality of content.
I resteem it.

A woman of high esteem, integrity and justice
I love your profile

Thank you for stopping by