You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2281 - Charity Platform?

in #steemit7 years ago

I strongly disagree with your assessment my friend and would like to think that some of the earnings from this post do go towards a noble cause. I personally would rather give charity to someone directly into their hands than give it to an intermediary who will take a cut of it for doing 'charitable work'. Please do a little research into the annual salaries of the directors etc who work for some of the big name charities and you will find that they are on exorbitant wages which they are taking out of the donations of everyday men and women like myself and in many cases there is little left to make any difference whatsoever!

I think you are right in saying that there will definitely be some who abuse for their own ends but I personally would much rather trust a fellow member of steemit than have an organised charity that needs employees and administration costs. Many of us would like to use steemit for good causes and you have no right in making the claim that only an organised charity can be trusted. In my experience they are the least trustworthy. I myself have a proposal that I am working on and feel strongly about so to read your words now is like a slap in the face to me. I don't usually comment if I don't have anything positive to say but this has really angered me my friend. I respect your opinion but am diametrically opposed to it. Steemit has given many people including myself the opportunity to do something for the good of others that no other platform can offer and I personally intend to use it to help in this way. If you do not want to help then don't but please don't tell other people what they should and shouldn't be doing with their money, upvotes or whatever else. We, like you, are all big enough and ugly enough to make decisions for ourselves in this regard!

My apologies for getting so worked up but I think you are completely wrong in your assessment of the overall good will and good nature of the majority of users on the platform and also wrong in your assessment of our own ability to see a scam. You are not the only one who can recognise these things my friend!

I hope that your day is going well!