Stepping into the flagging debate, just a little bit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

There has been a bunch of back and forth over flagging just recently.

And like everyone else I have views on this.

And like everyone else I’m going to subject you to my views, sorry.

I think flagging was well intentioned, but it doesn’t really work as intended. That’s usually what happens when you add people into the mix.

I know that I will never flag anyone, even for doing something blatantly flaggable.

Why? Because that just kicks off a flag war and everyone suffers. I try not to be negative in my comments for the same reason.
So that means I have to bite my tongue quite a lot at times.

I had thought of creating a sock puppet account to be able to express myself freely, without fear of being flagged into oblivion. This account also would not flag or be derogatory, just simply be me saying what I feel needs to be said.

But I don’t like the idea of hiding behind anonymity. That’s why my account is in my own name.

So what can I (we) do about it?

We need a way to express disapproval, disdain, dislike and dismay at certain posts without resorting to flagging.

And because I have a sense of humour, it should be a system that can give someone (i.e. me) a bit of a giggle.

So here we go.

I suggest flagging posts and comments with pictures as illustrated below.

The lemur of disapproval

The lemur of disapproval

The husky of disdain

The husky of disdain

or

The husky of disdain

The cat of dislike

The cat of dislike

The polar bear of dismay

The polar bear of dismay

And then of course you can add in things like:

The pissed off penguin

The pissed off penguin

Grumpy emu

Grumpy emu

But let’s not always be negative.

If you liked a post you can add something positive, like:

The mouse of approval

The mouse of approval

The laughing panda

The laughing panda

That’s frog-tastic

That’s frog-tastic

You get the idea.

This is a way you can show your approval, or disapproval that let’s anyone else viewing the post know that you feel. But it doesn’t (hopefully) kick off flag wars and damage reputation scores, and hide content etc.

So let me know what you think about this idea in the comments. Hopefully there will be more mice than lemurs


All pictures were not taken by me. They were taken by other people and put up on the interweb where other people like me, can see them and link to them.

Don’t blame me for that Cheetah!

They’re not mine, I’m just holding them for a friend, honest.


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Steem PowerCurationReputationPostsPowering up

Get your own badges from: https://steemit.com/@elyaque

Sort:  

The kitten of what a load of bollocks! :)

Laughing Panda is laughing at that :-)

The Lemur is king!

Yeah I love this photo. It says sooooo much.

I would agree this seems to be a much more enjoyable way to agree or disagree with out the flag wars!

Excellent idea, my friend! Has your world been shaking this afternoon?

Yup. 2016 is not finished with us yet.

2016 isn't finished with anybody yet. She still has some tricks up her sleeve it seems.

I wouldn't mind waking up to see that frog on my post, but I certainly never want to see that cat or penguin show up!

Papa has been here a long time, but I have yet to throw a flag.

I always thought that those were for the refs.

Frogs are cool! ;-)

This is awesome, much better than the typical flagging.

Thanks. So I take it that's a mouse then?

I approve this message.

So that's a mouse then?
Asks questioning owl.

More like this:

Ok, that's just scary. His eyes!!
That's an insane Batman. :-)

🙀(Runs and drops phone!)

I love this post! And I agree with your message too. Steem on!

Not disagreeing, just showing a picture:

The Laughing Panda like your agreeableness.

Sound advice. :-)

Nice idea....... To be honest, I'm not really seeing the point of the flagging system myself and believe it should be removed completely as it appears to have no real utility. Any utility it could have also seems to be contained within the down voting mechanism. Flagging is generally used by sites to alert moderators of some form of personal abuse or abuse of the rules/guidelines. As this site is essentially crowd or self moderated in a way without moderators, I'm not really grasping the point of it and it seems mainly to be abused as a form of trolling. I understand that whales can down vote stuff disproportionately to the average user, but this should diminish over time I would think.

Yup. Well let's see if we can get this idea off the ground as a way of 'flagging' posts, both good and bad.
i think it's also a lot more fun than just hitting a flag button.

This post has me crying!!!!😂😂😂😂 Seriously! Love the idea! Now that's creativity!! I'm sure some vector graphics of the above is within the law and our friend @chetah will agree. 🙃

the mouse of approval agrees.