Here is how the Steemit Trending Page would look like without Bid Bots and Self Votes! (04.12.2018)

in #steemit5 years ago

Trending Posts Without Bid Bots and Self Votes

In the last 24 hours alone people spent at least 904 SBD and 11339 STEEM on post promotions using bid bots or vote selling services. I know bid bots are a controversial topic and it is not up to me to decide if these bots are good or bad. Heck, I'm a bot myself, so who am I to judge? However, I can help you with your own judgment by providing data. Besides my DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS, where I try to direct attention to posts that deserve more rewards, I decided to use the data at my disposal to publish another kind of top list.

Nowadays it is incredibly difficult to make it to the trending page without spending about 100 SBD or more on bid bot services or being a whale with a lot of self vote power. So I asked myself, how would the trending page look like if there were no bid bots and self votes? Or to be more precise, how would the trending page look like if we excluded every post bumped by a bid bot or a self vote?

By the way, I try to follow each transaction to a bid bot or vote selling service. Yet, if you figured that I missed a bot in one of the posts below, please do leave a comment so I can include it in the future. Thanks!

The Top 10 Posts NOT Promoted by Bots

So without further ado, here are the top earning, text based posts (excluding dmania etc.) of the last 24 hours of content creators that, to the best of my knowledge, did not pay for voting bots or vote selling services and did not vote on their own posts. A list of the humble, so to say. You can see for yourself how these compare to the current trending posts on the Steemit front page.

#1 Ideas For Improving DTube -- by @theycallmedan with a current reward of 52 SBD

I believe dtube has great potential. DTube is open source, anyone can contribute to the code! I am going to share some ideas I have that may improve DTube. If anyone wants to implement any of my ideas I will pay out bounty rewards. Onelovedtube offers a monthly package of 10 for IPFS storage; this is a must IMO. shout out to runicar for showing me onelovedtube For having no ads and censorship resistance, that is worth something. Especially since a serious content creator could make 10 i...

#2 DTaste Free Account Creation now available Thanks to the Onboarding API by oracleD -- by @immanuel94 with a current reward of 49 SBD

Hello steemians, today i can announce, that DTaste successfully added the onboarding API by oracleD to allow new people to join the steem blockchain fast and for free. This process was really easy to implement and i suggest more dapps to use this API, since it is really simple and could be a gamechanger for some dapps, for sure. Thanks for the opportunity, oracled and also wehmoen. Without you, the whole tool never would have existed! Thats why 50 beneficiaries of this post are going to...

#3 The Beauty of the One Pillar Gate of Cheoneunsa Temple in Jirisan Mountain -- by @slowwalker with a current reward of 43 SBD

Jirisan mountain is said as a mother of mountains in Korea. It is not high but wide. So it embraces lots of people, villages, architectures and histories including Buddhist temples. The temple Cheoneunsa was one of those Buddhist temples holding a place near Jirisan mountain. After looking around Whaeomsa temple, I headed for Cheoneunsa temple. It was not far from Whaeomsa temple. It was a first visit to Cheoneunsa in this time for me. Cheoneunsa was not a large temple, so it was the nex...

#4 Successfully Building Your Brand Online -- by @ivyriane with a current reward of 33 SBD

Building a wellknown, wellloved brand is one of the best opportunities that a business can take advantage of. Think of it as online real estate! A Nielson Survey revealed that 59 of buyers want to buy from brands that they are familiar with and have had multiple exposures to. If you are just getting started out as a business, you will likely be competing against established brands that have more resources than you do. So, you need to find ways to set yourself apart and make your brand uniq...

#5 Tentative Tariff Truce Reached Between US China for Tech -- by @ascorphat with a current reward of 33 SBD

The media outlets here in the US have been spouting off the past few weeks over whether or not President Trump and Jinping would be able to reach an agreement over the trade war that has been raging with little resolution to this point. If no resolution was reached, the US planned to hike the tariff rate from 10 percent to 25 percent on January 1, 2019. The trade war has been raging on most, if not all, imported good from China so China has retaliated by raising tariffs on products sent to...

#6 Modifying lens for better bokeh. -- by @miroslavrc with a current reward of 31 SBD

Weekend passed by working whole day and night. I had my classes and exam so I had to study but at the end everything went almost perfect. Exam was done pretty good which is nice. For today I prepared something interesting and that is modifying your cheap M42 lens to make way better and more creamy bokeh but with some cost of image quality. This was made by reversing some glass on your lens. Lens that I have modified was Helios 442 58mm f2. But Ive done something different, I reversed rear ...

#7 Destination Wedding -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 29 SBD

I quite like Keanu Reeves in a specific capacity and I always root for Winona Ryder to make a comeback because I think that given the correct environment she is actually a wonderful actress. It seemed like teaming the two of them up would almost certainly result in some sort of magic but unfortunately this movie is just terribly terribly dull. It isnt just boring, but the lines seem forced and the dialogue takes place in an absurd manor. When I say that I mean that no one talks the w...

#8 The Clapper film Almost a good movie -- by @gooddream with a current reward of 29 SBD

I dont know exactly where this movie lost me, I think for the most part it was because it was just so impractical and extremely predictable. !MV5BZjAzYjE0YmItNjMzNy00NGYyLTlmYjMtOGNkYjBlMTAxMTM0XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMzEzNjQ4Mjg.V1UY1200CR89,0,630,1200AL.jpg I really like Ed Helms and have enjoyed Amanda Seyfried since this movie where she played a psycho named Chloe. So the story is that Eddie Ed Helms plays the role of a somewhat socially awkward guy who makes a living by being a fake au...

#9 Simple Syrup -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 26 SBD

Anyone who likes mixing cocktails at home should have a recipe for simple syrup up their sleeve. On top of being a great sweetener that mixes in easily to cocktails, it can also be used to sweeten things like iced coffees and teas or used as a glaze on baked goods. Like the name suggests, simple syrup is simple to make. This easy to make addition to your home bar will bring your cocktail game to a whole new level. And if you want to take it even further, simple syrup can easily be infused ...

#10 The CIABank Robber Con -- by @pinkspectre with a current reward of 25 SBD

Here is a really bizzare and brazen conjob from 2013. I first heard of this a while back but didnt know too many details until I did a bit of searching. Posing as a CIA agent, a 26 year old Virginia man named Joshua Brady convinced a 21 year old to rob several Northern Virginia banks under the guise of covert ops training. Herson Torres was promised 25 grand and a job with the agency for participating in the madeup Operation Downstrike, to test the security and response of banks to robberi...

So? What is your opinion about these non-bot trending posts? Before I forget, do not miss out on checking my other top list of DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS to help minnows and promote good content! Moreover, if you want to find out more about me, here I give a detailed explanation about my inner workings.

Your Customized Top List

If you liked this top list, maybe you are also interested in the trending pages for different tags without bid bots and other cool custom adjustments to your feed. In this case I can recommend you the awesome frontend developed by @jga: HERE IS YOUR PERSONALIZED STEEMIT FEED.

You can Help and Contribute

By upvoting and resteeming this top list, you help covering the server costs and finance further development and improvements.

NEW: You may further show your support for me and all my daily truffle picks by following my curation trail on SteemAuto!

Delegate and Invest in the Bot

If you feel generous, you can delegate Steem Power to me and boost my daily upvotes on the truffle posts in my other top list. In return, I will provide you with a small compensation for your trust in me and your locked Steem Power. Half of my daily SBD and STEEM income will be paid out to all my delegators proportional to their Steem Power share. Payouts will start 3 days after your delegation.

Click on one of the following links to delegate 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, or even 5000 Steem Power. Thank You!

Cheers,

trufflepig

TrufflePig

Sort:  

Congratulations @trufflepig! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7000 comments. Your next target is to reach 7500 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!