Here is how the Steemit Trending Page would look like without Bid Bots and Self Votes! (24.02.2020)

in #steemit4 years ago

Trending Posts Without Bid Bots and Self Votes

In the last 24 hours alone people spent at least 41 SBD and 301 STEEM on post promotions using bid bots or vote selling services. I know bid bots are a controversial topic and it is not up to me to decide if these bots are good or bad. Heck, I'm a bot myself, so who am I to judge? However, I can help you with your own judgment by providing data. Besides my DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS, where I try to direct attention to posts that deserve more rewards, I decided to use the data at my disposal to publish another kind of top list.

Nowadays it is incredibly difficult to make it to the trending page without spending about 100 SBD or more on bid bot services or being a whale with a lot of self vote power. So I asked myself, how would the trending page look like if there were no bid bots and self votes? Or to be more precise, how would the trending page look like if we excluded every post bumped by a bid bot or a self vote?

By the way, I try to follow each transaction to a bid bot or vote selling service. Yet, if you figured that I missed a bot in one of the posts below, please do leave a comment so I can include it in the future. Thanks!

The Top 10 Posts NOT Promoted by Bots

So without further ado, here are the top earning, text based posts (excluding dmania etc.) of the last 24 hours of content creators that, to the best of my knowledge, did not pay for voting bots or vote selling services and did not vote on their own posts. A list of the humble, so to say. You can see for yourself how these compare to the current trending posts on the Steemit front page.

#1 What is property? Is it defined by consensus? -- by @lukestokes with a current reward of 58 SBD

First, please a this soft fork 22.2 joint announcement by the current consensus witnesses. Edit a Sun has responded to the community and will host a town hall event for top witnesses. Many say property is defined by the legal jurisdiction you live in controlled by a nation state. Others, myself included, derive property rights from the philosophy of liberty as described here iframe width560 height315 frameborder0 allowaccelerometer; autoplay; encryptedmedia; gyroscope; pictureinpictur...

#2 My position on the soft fork I am not running the changes on my witness node -- by @timcliff with a current reward of 49 SBD

A supermajority of the top witnesses have decided to proceed with a change to limit the use of the accounts belonging to Steemit, Inc. which have been acquired by Tron as part of the purchase of Steemit, Inc. To find out more about this, please read this post. The decision to support the changes or not has weighed heavily on many witnesses including myself, and a lot of very healthy and productive conversation has taken place between many of the witnesses and Steems stakeholders. I fully ...

#3 BTC Binance CEO says now is the time to buy Bitcoin -- by @jrcornel with a current reward of 17 SBD

If you have followed crypto and bitcoin for any length of time you will undoubtedly notice that there is no shortage of price predictions out there. They come from all sorts of sources. However, there is one place you rarely see price predictions come from... And thats from the CEO of Binance. Changpeng Zhao learned long ago that making price predictions isnt a great idea because... An astute observation! Apparently Zhao decided to deviate from his previous thoughts regarding bitco...

#4 PromoSteem Curation Synopsis 23FEB2020 -- by @steem-ambassador with a current reward of 13 SBD

classtextjustify Daily PromoSteem Curation Synopsis showcases the brilliant promo work done by Steemians to promote Steem Blockchain. SYNOPSIS REPORT 23FEB2020 Steemit Condenser Contributions Simple notification filters Author quochuy Announcement for collective support community GEMS Author bluemist Proof of Sharing Sunday! POSH Author theycallmedan Welcome the Startups community on Steem Author hive112721 How to support PromoSteem If you li...

#5 A Temporary Guide to Budget Decks -- by @greenguy654 with a current reward of 12 SBD

Why do I say temporary? Well, genesis is going to get real expensive eventually, due to itx27;s limited nature. Once the player base really pumps, those cards will be crazy expensive. For now though, as the game remains unpopular, we can really take advantage of these low prices. Ix27;m not going to sugar coat it this game is pay to win. If you want to have a good deck for each god to maximize your flux earnings, youx27;re going to have to lay down some cash. Some decks by themselves though...

#6 Become a Moderator for Debate Competition Events -- by @ponpase with a current reward of 12 SBD

It is an award to be invited to be a moderator at an event. I had the opportunity to attend a competition held by a student organization, in the local area. This time I was invited to be the moderator of the debate competition. This is part of the national festival that has been going on for 3 days. On this second day, I guide the race. This event was attended by students from 7 campuses. These participants came from the Aceh region and outside Aceh. They came here to become champi...

#7 Finally the Solution came Through..... -- by @rehan12 with a current reward of 12 SBD

a Hello Steem users After trying so hard, it finally came to an a solution. I am talking about an issue which I had been facing for a long time. Due to that various people were getting badly affected for it. Fortunately, somehow with lots of patience and hard work it is becoming a reality. The issue that I am taking about is somwhow personal and if it gets to an end as I am expecting, it would be a UTURN for me and I would be more than happy to see it through the end. Lets see what r...

#8 Beyond the Comfort Zone of Soothing Spiritual Language -- by @artemislives with a current reward of 9 SBD

I was surprised, and then I must confess irritated. Sunday morning community yoga in Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, is always an international affair. There are people from all over the world, and some Thai people too all enjoying yoga led by a group of rotating international volunteer yoga teachers. Today, it was led by our Thai teacher, Kru Jaew, who speaks English just fine. Normally she teaches in English. But this morning, everyone else in the class was Thai and I was the sole fo...

#9 Having Your Cake And Eating It -- by @cryptoandcoffee with a current reward of 8 SBD

source This week Eddie Jones was quiet, infact he changed things up with one or two word answers not wanting to create anything. When asked by reporters what has made him change he said that the press jumped on certain sentences making a story. source The problem I have with that is Eddie wont admit everything he has said has backfired on him and the team. Having players do your dirty work is also obvious so no misquotes this week before the Irish game. I do believe someone from up top h...

#10 Weekly running update Late Feb 2020 -- by @revisesociology with a current reward of 8 SBD

Only two runs this week, I felt a twinge in my right thigh following a slight stumble last Sunday and so took it a bit easy, restive! This was somewhat unexpected as its my left leg thats my week one, such is life I guess. My right feel fine again already btw. I track most of my runs with Garmin, which auto uploads to Strava. Total kilometers this week 10.5K No. of runs 2 I was working in Ashford, and found this nice local park close to Lodge I was staying in. Dead flat, tarmac...

So? What is your opinion about these non-bot trending posts? Before I forget, do not miss out on checking my other top list of DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS to help minnows and promote good content! Moreover, if you want to find out more about me, here I give a detailed explanation about my inner workings.

Your Customized Top List

If you liked this top list, maybe you are also interested in the trending pages for different tags without bid bots and other cool custom adjustments to your feed. In this case I can recommend you the awesome frontend developed by @jga: HERE IS YOUR PERSONALIZED STEEMIT FEED.

You can Help and Contribute

By upvoting and resteeming this top list, you help covering the server costs and finance further development and improvements.

NEW: You may further show your support for me and all my daily truffle picks by following my curation trail on SteemAuto!

Delegate and Invest in the Bot

If you feel generous, you can delegate Steem Power to me and boost my daily upvotes on the truffle posts in my other top list. In return, I will provide you with a small compensation for your trust in me and your locked Steem Power. Half of my daily SBD and STEEM income will be paid out to all my delegators proportional to their Steem Power share. Payouts will start 3 days after your delegation.

Click on one of the following links to delegate 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000, 2000, or even 5000 Steem Power. Thank You!

Cheers,

trufflepig

TrufflePig

Sort:  

Here is how the Steemit Trending Page would look like without Bid Bots and Self Votes!

Have you considered generating a version of the "all trending page" that also caps whale upvotes at 1.00 steem?

I really like your list, but the biggest issue with the "all trending page" is it ends up mostly looking like a parade-of-whale-favorites.