You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Vs Reddit: 3 small differences that are huge reasons I’m making the switch to Steemit.

in #steemit8 years ago

I'm seeing a lot of groups here that I'm not necessarily aligned with, with its great to see people have a voice. It gets annoying to see the same thing over and over in big communities like reddit. Its happening here, but the more it grows, the more diversity there is.

Sort:  

Money is the great attractor - and it tends to attract everyone :D

I didn't get into it in the post, but I had a few times on reddit where I've posted things and people will belittle the post rather than downvote it or contribute. I'm fine with people not liking or not agree with something, but if you're not willing to contribute then it's a pretty terrible attitude to have.

And I've had posts in the top 20 all time of some subs. Its nothing to brush off. I mostly post to help, but when met with loud and apathetic opposition, it gets pretty frustrating.

There are people that are pretty "vitriolic" and harmful to a particular environment, whether they do it on purpose, or not. Personally I have so much online experience (from 90's BBS mailing lists to forums on the internet later, etc etc) that nothing phases me to the point where I can say that "I'm frustrated". I've seen them all, so to speak. The only thing that comes remotely close to getting emotionally affected is when I've invested a lot of time in a forum and it devolves into something weird, or shuts down entirely. Characters not so much. I kind of developed immunity to all their bullshit.