Can You Really "Cheat" Steemit?

in #steemit8 years ago

Most people try to make money on steemit the honest way by posting articles, upvoting good content, and leaving good comments... Right? But in the crypto-world... Is there such thing as "Cheating"?

By "Cheating" I mean things like "Utilizing tools that most people don't know about to make more money".

For example, If I had an algorithm that searched new content and gave me a rank (high-low) on wether or not that post would become popular/trending and ONLY upvoted that content, regardless of what the content is, just to make more money from curation rewards, would that be considered "Cheating"?

I would imagine most would say yes but I would like to get other's opinions. 

The reason I ask is because such things exist, and even more unique tools come out every day that we could use to smartly squeeze out every penny we can for rewards. In the above example I am actually referencing a tool called SteemUps. The tool does exactly as I described and ranks content high-low based on several things (Post length, pictures, etc.). 

There are so many tools on SteemTools that I have recently found that can be extremely useful in helping you make a little extra money on steemit. I am going to use SteemUps for the next couple of days and ONLY upvote things it recommends and lets see how my curation rewards change! 

Has anyone else used SteemUps yet, and if so how is it working for you?


Sort:  

This post by @dantheman talks a bit about the economic and game-theoretic consequences of large-scale bot usage. He believes this will continue, with better and better bots being developed and competing with one another.

https://steemit.com/steem/@dantheman/curation-rewards-and-voting-incentive

I agree, Thanks

I will try it too