Can anybody explain why every steemian upvotes his own post?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

What is the goal?
Does the first upvoter earn additional money in case of success even if he is the author of the post?
I`ve read a lot of manuals explaining how STEEM works but this only thing makes me curious.
Or it is just like a promotional hint?
Please clarify it to me!

Sort:  

The author gets at least 50% of the rewards with that up-vote.

Author will always get that 50%. Also there's diminishing returns in the curating reward.
https://steemit.com/steem/@abit/new-curation-reward-algorithm-huge-penalty-to-early-voters

https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/steem-version-0-12-0-released
Version 0.12.2 hardfork will start in little over 5 hours. Those who are mining and witnessing should update to 0.12.2 right now.

If no curating reward is granted then why vote for yourself? Still curious.

It might have had some benefit earlier and they haven't removed it yet because this new algorhitm has just started.

By the way, my 0.12.0 ubuntu miner is working now and finding pows even today. Why? It is even not 0.12.1.

https://github.com/steemit/steem/releases/tag/v0.12.2

"This is a soft-fork and an update to Hard Fork 12 to address oversized blocks and transactions. All witnesses should update as soon as possible."

That should do it.

Could you please explain what should I do, just change the file steemd ? How can I make it on Ubuntu server using commands, I have installed the miner using manual and dont know how to replace a file :)

Most likely it's because there's "upvote post" checked on the right side of the post just under the tags bar.

Yes, it`s checked by default for some reason. But for what reason?

If that additional reward for user's own upvotes is true.
Imagine whales upvoting there own posts and scooping out the big reward!

That is the question. Buy a huge amount of Steem Power and vote for your own post. Does it work?

I do it because I'm too lazy to uncheck the box ... as you can see at comments I'm to lazy to check the box!

and I guess this applies to everyone here!

LAZY!!!

this post is very engaging, i would have not known the purpose of upvoting own posts

In this case voters are not very motivated to vote, I guess... because everyone wants to be the first and get 50% of the rewards. Right?

It seems to me that in order to achieve success one should give the right of the first vote to the very first voter, but not himself. Else it appears pretty selfish.