You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hanging onto Steem Power is about a lot more than wealth accumulation. It is also about the future of the steem blockchain.

in #steemit7 years ago

Excellent post! Very apt description of Steemit at the moment and going forward. I really love your description of the decentralized Seetmit platform as users being BOTH the moderators and the custodians. Very true. I haven't been around as long as you have but i have seen some ugly disputes break out. I admire how you handled your flagging situation, we could all learn a lot from this.

The Hordes are coming...I have thought about this as well and how it may effect the steemit ecosystem, which is a beautiful thing. Very positive and civil (for the most part). I cringe at the thought of Instagram/FB narcissistic behavior flooding the platform with selfies and shallowness or reddit troll types flinging mud.

I think you've made a great argument for what we need to do as a community to preserve the best qualities of the platform.

Super post - enthusiastic resteem!!

Sort:  

That is exactly what I was thinking also! Steemit is such a lovely place, without all the Facebook & Twitter drama. I sure hope it does not turn into that. I am new, but possibly it cant happen because people will start flagging them?

We will deal with it as it happens. If it requires flags ultimately that is what would happen. Hopefully we could educate them as to why their posts are not making much, and why they are not getting as many followers as they would like. The flag should always be a last resort as far as I am concerned.

I also think that Steemit won't attract the problematic types because of its design. Its fundamentals are different from FB, etc.

I agree and i disagree. You're right the design may keep some away but the financial benefits will outweigh the deterrence in my mind. Seriously, imagine if you're a hot babe on instagram and you come to steemit and you post a bunch of bikini pics...that shit is going to make money, unfortunately. Honestly, idk how the community is going to deal with that effectively.

Yep, you've got a point there. I guess it'll be a case of there being an audience for that stuff. Oh well, I'll just mind my own business and consume and support the content I do care about